Skip to Main Content

Libraries | Ask the Libraries

Classical Studies, Sources : Types of Sources

Language Dictionaries : General

BabelNET
Look up words in many modern languages. User generated.
Cassell's Italian Dictionary
Collins German Dictionary
Collins German Dictionary [electronic resource]
Collins Italian Dictionary
Collins Italian Dictionary [electronic resource]
Collins Spanish Dictionary
Collins Spanish Dictionary [electronic resource]
DeepL
Translator to and from various languages. For some languages such as German it is superior to Google. For others such as Italian, Google, as terribly flawed as the translations are, is better.
DII Dizionario
Glosbe
Decent searchable online dictionaries in multiple languages, including Latin-English, English Latin.
Linguee
Basic German-English -- English-German online dictionary.
Logeion
Greek and Latin word search (from Perseus)
Oxford-Duden German Dictionary
Oxford English Dictionary [electronic resource]
The standard English dictionary.
Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary
The Oxford Spanish Dictionary
Perseus Word Search
Greek, Latin, Arabic, Old Norse.
Pocket Oxford German Dictionary
Pocket Oxford Italian Dictionary
Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary
Pocket Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary

Last Updated: Sep 15, 2024 11:16 AM
URL: https://guides.libraries.uc.edu/classical-types-sources
Print Page

Subjects: History

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2021 University of Cincinnati