Skip to main content

Sociology -- Resources & Services (Main Library)

The Sociology Resources Portal provides links to a wide range of resources to facilitate course work, scholarship and career development.

Employment & Compensation

Employment Opportunities

In addition to the specialized employment resources listed below, search the General Job Websites.  These general job search sites can often provide leads to relevant professional positions that may not be found through the specialized job sites, though you may need to be flexible in your selection of keywords in your job search on these general job websites.  In addition to the resources listed below, position announcements can be found on many of the association & societies Web sites which are accessible via the "Professional Organizations" category tab

General Job Websites

Career Information and Advice

The following resources are guides to careers in many areas, including sociology.  These resources provide a wealth of information in relation to the kind of work entailed, educational requirements, employment opportunities and projections, earnings, professional organizations and additional sources of information.  The sociology specific titles include career advice and job hunting tips.

Additional Information about Careers in Sociology

Facts on Jobs & Careers [in Sociology]

This site, hosted by the American Sociological Association, provides a compilation of reports and articles related to careers and employment opportunities in the field of Sociology.  The site targets interests of undergraduates, graduate and faculty.

Sociologists -- Occupational Employment and Wages, May 2011

The Bureau of Labor Statistics provides national estimates and industry and geographic profiles for this occupation.

Trends in Sociologists' Salaries

This site, hosted by the American Sociological Association, provides salary data since 2005.

 

Articles on Careers in Sociology

Articles have been selected from the following databases: SocIndex, Sociological Collection, Family Studies Abstracts and Family & Society Studies Worldwide.  

Many of these articles are available in full text for UC students, faculty and staff.  Click on the article title link below and then once the full record is displayed click on the button to check for full text availability, OR alternatively click on the URL in the LINKS field.

Loading ...
Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati