Research Guides: Sociology -- Resources & Services (Main Library): Media

Streaming Media

The value of videos for teaching and learning is well documented . Videos are powerful instruments that engage the student's many modalities for learning.

Palmer, S. (2007). An evaluation of streaming digital video resources in on- and off-campus engineering management education. Computers & Education, 49(2), 297-308. doi:10.1016/j.compedu.2005.07.002

Large Collections of Streaming Video

Films on Demand - Streaming Videos
Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows viewing of streaming videos from Films Media Group.
Kanopy (Streaming Video Service)
Beginning August 19, 2019, University of Cincinnati Libraries will be moving from a Patron Driven Acquisition model to a Mediated Model for all Kanopy Streaming video titles. More information about this change can be found at https://guides.libraries.uc.edu/Kanopy/FAQ
Please note that all currently licensed films will still be available for immediate viewing, and a request form will only be presented when clicking on unlicensed films.

Kanopy -- Libraries Moving to Mediated Service Model for Kanopy Streaming Videos
Please read the new guidelines for the use of Kanopy.
more...less...
Record date: 8/17/2019
Summon (Filtered for Streaming Video)
Simply search for your topic, e.g., income inequality, to find streaming video links.
more...less...
Record date: 11/01/2017

Additional Media Resources

The following list of streaming video resources may facilitate your discovery of videos covering sociology topics and various related areas.

Catalog -- UC Libraries
See the instructions for finding videos -- streaming, DVD & VHS, in the UC Libraries catalog.
more...less...
Record date: 11/26/2012
Counseling and Therapy in Video
Counseling and Therapy in Video provides nearly a thousand videos available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. These streaming videos include counseling sessions, consultations, interviews, presentations, lectures and searchable transcripts. Many also include study and teaching guides. Videos from any of these collections may be added to Blackboard courses either with permalinks or via embed codes.
more...less...
Record date: 7/16/2015

Education in Video
Education in Video provides resources for both new and experienced teachers tools to increase their knowledge and skills and for education faculty to link abstract theories of education to real-world students and classrooms.

Merlot
MERLOT is a free and open online community of resources designed primarily for faculty, staff and students of higher education from around the world to share their learning materials and pedagogy. Not many videos, but this is a huge repository of leaning aids, including simulations and flash movies.
more...less...
The MERLOT Repository is not only learning materials. Along with the learning materials, members have contributed assignments and comments to enhance the teaching experience of an exercise. The learning materials are categorized into 11 different material types. A large selection of materials in MERLOT also have assignments and comments attached to them. (From the MERLOT home page)

Record date: 11/01/2017

Open Video Project
The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video¸ multimedia retrieval¸ digital library¸ and other research communities. Researchers can use the video to study a wide range of problems¸ such as tests of algorithms for automatic segmentation¸ summarization¸ and creation of surrogates that describe video content; the development of face recognition algorithms; or creating and evaluating interfaces that display result sets from multimedia queries. Because researchers attempting to solve similar problems will have access to the same video content¸ the repository is also intended to be used as a test collection that will enable systems to be compared¸ similar to the way the TREC conferences are used for text retrieval.

Top Documentary Films
Includes a wide array of streaming videos, but most notably the series includes videos in the following areas: crime (94), drugs (63), health (84), psychology (50), sexuality (40) and society (293).
more...less...
Record date: 11/15/2012
WatchKnowLearn.org -- Sociology series
This is a small collection of 25 educational sociology videos, including the following areas: equality, homelessness, population, social networks, etc.
more...less...
Record date: 12/4/2018
YouTube Search
You will find an amazing array of videos. Many are high quality reputable educational videos; many are not. Always be aware of the source of the video.
more...less...
Record date: 11/01/2017

Additional UCLibraries Guides for Media Content

Media (UC DAAP Library)
Includes a section on "citing" videos.
more...less...
Record date: 7/15/2015
Government Documents Media
more...less...
Record date: 7/3/2014
Finding Open Access Images: Overview (Penn Libraries)
more...less...
Record date: 11/23/2016

UC Library Catalog -- How to find a video

Finding a video (streaming, DVD or VHS) in the UC Libraries Catalog

1. Open the UC Libraries Catalog (see below).

2. Enter your search expression in the first text search box, e.g., brain

3. Across from Videos/DVDs select “ALL.” (This will include streaming video.)

4. Then select [Search]. That’s it. This simple search retrieved 225 records, including the titles listed below (on right).