Titles in the Acing Series use a unique checklist format with sequential questions that help students fully evaluate a subject. The books also present numerous hypothetical problems and sample answers.These are available electronically through the Library's West Academic Study Aids subscription. If accessing the Study Aids for the first time, you will need to create an account. Once this has been completed, you will be able to enter the Study Aids Subscription page.
If accessing the Acing Series from off-campus or from other parts of campus, create a West Academic account. To create an account, click the Create an Account link at the top right corner of the Study Aids Subscription page. Once you have have created an account and/or logged in, you can use the links below to access them.
The Black Letter Outline Series is designed to help students recognize, understand and master the primary principles of law by gaining a good understanding of the rule of law first before applying it to complex fact patterns. They contain comprehensive outlines of particular areas of law, a capsule summary of each outline, practice examinations, and examples and review questions. These are available electronically through the Library's West Academic Study Aids subscription. If accessing the Study Aids for the first time, you will need to create an account. Once this has been completed, you will be able to enter the Study Aids Subscription page.
To access all books in the Black Letter Outlines series from the West Academic subscription from off-campus or from other parts of campus, create a West Academic account. To create an account, click the Create an Account link at the top right corner of the Study Aids Subscription page. Once you have have created an account and/or logged in, you can use the links below to access them.
What Is CALI?CALI stands for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction. CALI.org is a non-profit consortium of law schools – of which UC Law is a member – that develops and distributes legal education lessons to the consortium members. CALI courses are available online at http://www.cali.org.
You will need to set up a username and password to use CALI online. Go to http://www.cali.org/user/register and click the Create an Account link. You will be asked to enter UC Law’s authorization code. You can get this code from any reference librarian or at the Circulation Desk. Once you have entered the authorization code, you can set up your username and password. Read the CALI FAQs at http://www.cali.org/faq/15694.
There are over 900 CALI lessons dealing with over 30 legal subjects. You can browse descriptions of them at http://www.cali.org/lesson. You can also browse lessons tied to a specific casebook: http://www.cali.org/content/lessons-casebook.
CALI publishes a selected number of free e-books. Of particular note are the Federal Rules. The e-books are available at http://www.cali.org/the-elangdell-bookstore.
Casenote Legal Briefs provides case summaries, which include the black letter law, facts, majority opinion, concurrences, and dissents, as well as analysis of the case. Casenotes in 1L subjects include a Quick Course Outline to help you understand the relationships between course topics.
This series, published by West, provides an overview of an area of law. It is similar to the Understanding series. You can see what titles the Law Library owns by doing a series title search in UCLID or clicking on the Complete List of Concepts and Insights.
This series features concise analysis of basic areas of law by prominent legal scholars. It is a condensed version of the more in-depth hornbook. You can see what concise hornbooks the Law Library owns by doing a series title search in UCLID or clicking on the Complete List of Concise Hornbooks.These are also available electronically through the Library's West Academic Study Aids subscription. If accessing the Study Aids for the first time, you will need to create an account. Once this has been completed, you will be able to enter the Study Aids Subscription page.
To access all books in the Concise Hornbook series from the West Academic subscription from off-campus or from other parts of campus, create a West Academic account. To create an account, click the Create an Account link at the top right corner of the Study Aids Subscription page. Once you have have created an account and/or logged in, you can use the links below to access them.
This study aid provides flow charts, capsule summaries, exam tips, short answer exam questions, multiple choice questions, and essay questions with model answers.You can see all books in the CrunchTime series that the Law Library owns by doing a series title search in UCLID or clicking the Complete List of CrunchTime books.
E-Flash Cards are online flash cards for Contracts and Torts. These are available electronically through the Library's West Academic Study Aids subscription. These are available electronically through the Library's West Academic Study Aids subscription. If accessing the Study Aids for the first time, you will need to create an account. Once this has been completed, you will be able to enter the Study Aids Subscription page.
To access all E-Flash cards from the West Academic subscription from off-campus or from other parts of campus, create a West Academic account. To create an account, click the Create an Account link at the top right corner of the Study Aids Subscription page. Once you have have created an account and/or logged in, you can use the links below to access them.
The Emanuel Law Outlines series is a study aid that outlines the law, gives exam tips, and offers chances for you to quiz yourself. They are part of the Wolters Kluwer Study Aid collection.
The Exam Pro Series are study aids that offer sample exams and corresponding answers with detailed analysis. Each Exam Pro title is authored by a leading law professor and recognized expert in an area of law and contains multiple choice and essay questions based on current court decisions. Detailed explanations for each answer describe the best possible choice as well as red herring answers, which helps increase law student understanding of a topic and build exam skills. These are available electronically through the Library's West Academic Study Aids subscription. If accessing the Study Aids for the first time, you will need to create an account. Once this has been completed, you will be able to enter the Study Aids Subscription page.
To access all books in the Exam Pro series from the West Academic subscription from off-campus or from other parts of campus, create a West Academic account. To create an account, click the Create an Account link at the top right corner of the Study Aids Subscription page. Once you have have created an account and/or logged in, you can use the links below to access them.
Examples & Explanations is a series published by Aspen that provides you with explanations and analysis for a topic and then gives examples to help you fully understand the analysis. A series of problems at the end of each section or chapter assist you in testing your understanding. Answers are provided for these problems. You can see a complete list of the Examples & Explanations the Law Library owns by doing a series title search in UCLID or clicking on the Complete List of Examples & Explanations.
Gilbert Law Summaries give students a detailed, comprehensive outline to prepare for exams. Each title also includes a capsule summary that is perfect for last minute review. Students can test their knowledge and fine tune exam skills with Gilbert's actual law school exam questions (multiple choice, short answer, and essay) which are featured at the back of each outline. Every question comes with a fully explained answer, and each question is cross-referenced back to the main outline for further review. These are available electronically through the Library's West Academic Study Aids subscription. If accessing the Study Aids for the first time, you will need to create an account. Once this has been completed, you will be able to enter the Study Aids Subscription page.
To access all books in the Gilbert Law Summaries series from off-campus or from other parts of campus, create a West Academic account. To create an account, click the Create an Account link at the top right corner of the Study Aids Subscription page. Once you have have created an account and/or logged in, you can use the links below to access them.
You can use the audio app to listen to these: Offline access help.
The Glannon Guides feature brief explanatory text about the topic under discussion, followed by one or two multiple-choice questions. After each question, the author explains how the correct choice was chosen. A more challenging final question in each chapter illustrates a more sophisticated problem in the area under discussion. You can find Glannon Guides that the Law Library owns by searching UCLID or clicking on the Complete List of Glannon Guides.
High Court™ Case Summaries are directly keyed to the most widely used law school casebooks. Each brief gives a clear, concise description of a major case’s facts, issues, rationale, and majority, concurring, and dissenting opinions. Also included are analysis, case vocabulary, and a memory graphic. Please note that there may not be a title keyed to the textbook that your particular professor is using. These are available electronically through the Library's West Academic Study Aids subscription. If accessing the Study Aids for the first time, you will need to create an account. Once this has been completed, you will be able to enter the Study Aids Subscription page.
To access all books in the High Court Case Summaries series from off-campus or from other parts of campus, create a West Academic account. To create an account, click the Create an Account link at the top right corner of the Study Aids Subscription page. Once you have have created an account and/or logged in, you can use the links below to access them.
Think of a hornbook as a mini-treatise for law students. It provides a more in-depth analysis of law school subjects than the other series. They will typically cover cases used in law school classes. You can see what hornbooks the Law Library owns by doing a series title search in UCLID or clicking on the Complete List of Hornbooks.
Law in a Flash are flash cards for legal subjects. You can see what Law in a Flash sets the Law Library owns by doing a series title search in UCLID or clicking on the Complete List of Law in a Flash.
The Law Stories series brings famous cases to life by telling the true, never-heard-before stories behind landmark cases. This fascinating series of texts covers significant cases in major areas of law, including tax, torts, constitutional law, civil procedure and property. These are available electronically through the Library's West Academic Study Aids subscription. If accessing the Study Aids for the first time, you will need to create an account. Once this has been completed, you will be able to enter the Study Aids Subscription page.
To access all books in the Law Stories series from the West Academic subscription from off-campus or from other parts of campus, create a West Academic account. To create an account, click the Create an Account link at the top right corner of the Study Aids Subscription page. Once you have have created an account and/or logged in, you can use the links below to access them.
This law school study aid provides detailed explanations of the cases in certain casebooks. Each brief includes the facts of the case, issues, holdings, and the court's reasoning. The format includes background information and statements of law that relate the cases to the overall law. Please note that there may not be a title keyed to the textbook that your particular professor is using. These are available electronically through the Library's West Academic Study Aids subscription. If accessing the Study Aids for the first time, you will need to create an account. Once this has been completed, you will be able to enter the Study Aids Subscription page.
To access all books in the LegalLines series from the West Academic subscription from off-campus or from other parts of campus, create a West Academic account. To create an account, click the Create an Account link at the top right corner of the Study Aids Subscription page. Once you have have created an account and/or logged in, you can use the links below to access them.
The Mastering series is designed to provide law students with tools to understand the substance and content of various law school courses. At the beginning of each chapter, a Roadmap introduces the chapter and provides readers with an overview of the material that will be covered. This list of bulleted points clearly maps out the direction of the chapter, covering all key topics. Checkpoints at the end of each chapter encourage readers to stop and review the key concepts, reiterating what has been learned. These points serve as a mechanism for double-checking knowledge. Finally, a Master Checklist at the end of each book reinforces what has been covered and helps readers identify any areas that need review or further study. The Master Checklist is a tool for self-assessing one's mastery of the material.
Nutshells are little paperback books that give a concise overview of an area of law. You can see what nutshells the Law Library owns by doing a series title search in UCLID or clicking on the link for the Complete List of Nutshells.
These are available electronically through the Library's West Academic Study Aids subscription. If accessing the Study Aids for the first time, you will need to create an account. Once this has been completed, you will be able to enter the Study Aids Subscription page.
To access all books in the Nutshell series from the West Academic subscription from off-campus or from other parts of campus, create a West Academic account. To create an account, click the Create an Account link at the top right corner of the Study Aids Subscription page. Once you have have created an account and/or logged in, you can use the links below to access them.
Q&A books consist of multiple choice and short answer questions with detailed explanations of the answers. You can see a complete list of the Q&A titles the Law Library owns by doing a series title search in UCLID or clicking on the links below.
This series contains capsule summary outlines each section with a clear and concise explanation of legal concepts and terms, along with exam hints, strategies, mnemonics, charts, tables and study tips. Self-testing and diagnostic review questions facilitate application of legal concepts. Also provides capsule summaries of significant cases identifying important facts, primary issues and relevant law. Essay and multiple choice questions, model answers, and detailed explanations help with exam preparation. These are available electronically through the Library's West Academic Study Aids subscription. If accessing the Study Aids for the first time, you will need to create an account. Once this has been completed, you will be able to enter the Study Aids Subscription page.
To access all books in the Quick Review Sum and Substance series from off-campus or from other parts of campus, create a West Academic account. To create an account, click the Create an Account link at the top right corner of the Study Aids Subscription page. Once you have have created an account and/or logged in, you can use the links below to access them.
What Are Restatements?Restatements are secondary sources that seek to create a uniform "restatement" of the legal rules that constitute the common law in a particular area. They are written by the American Law Institute (ALI), a prestigious legal organization composed of noted professors, judges and lawyers. They cover areas of law that include such first-year subjects as Torts, Contracts, and Property.
Each Restatement consists of a set of topical volumes, which contain the actual "black letter" legal rules and drafters' commentary, and a set of Appendix volumes, which contain summaries of cases which have adopted or interpreted the Restatement rules. The Comments are written by the drafters of the Restatement to explain the provision and identify its limitations. If the provision addresses an area of law about which there is disagreement among jurisdictions, the comment will explain why the Restatement adopts one position as opposed to the other. The "Illustrations" sections of the Restatement provide examples of how a particular Restatement provision would apply in specific factual situations. Many of these Illustrations are based on actual cases.
You can see what Restatements the Law Library owns by doing a keyword title search in UCLID.
These study aids take difficult subject matter and make it accessible and easy to remember. They provide clear explanations, logical sequencing of the material, colorful acronyms, metaphor and imagery. These are available electronically through the Library's West Academic Study Aids subscription. If accessing the Study Aids for the first time, you will need to create an account. Once this has been completed, you will be able to enter the Study Aids Subscription page.
To access all books in the Short & Happy series from the West Academic subscription from off-campus or from other parts of campus, create a West Academic account. To create an account, click the Create an Account link at the top right corner of the Study Aids Subscription page. Once you have have created an account and/or logged in, you can use the links below to access them.
The Study Guide Series is designed to help students prepare for law school exams and the Bar Examination. The Guides are not meant to serve as comprehensive course treatises but rather as interactive workbooks to effectively prepare you to pass these exams. To that end, you will find the most heavily tested legal rules presented in a format that mirrors the way they arise as issues in typical testing fact patterns. The essential legal rules are set out in statements that include a breakdown of the element components. Fluency with the legal terminology of the subject is essential to exam success so it includes fill-in-the-blank spaces to help you learn and memorize definitions of key terms as they are introduced and a glossary of selected terms at the end of the Study Guide. In addition to learning the law and memorizing the key rules, the most important way to pass your exams is to practice. Each chapter contains short-answer Test Yourself Questions with spaces for you to write your own answers and the reasoning behind the answers you choose. Working through these, as you study, then reading the sample answers and explanations will help you master the skill of applying the substantive rules to new and different fact patterns. In addition to the short-answer questions, there are a number of full-length practice essay questions with explanatory answers in the Appendix portion of the Guide. There are tips and suggestions in that portion as well, on how to outline and practice writing these questions to prepare most effectively for your exams.
To access all books in the Step-By-Step Study Guide Series from the West Academic subscription from off-campus or from other parts of campus, create a West Academic account. To create an account, click the Create an Account link at the top right corner of the Study Aids Subscription page. Once you have have created an account and/or logged in, you can use the links below to access them.
The Understanding series is published by LexisNexis and provides an overview and analysis of legal subjects. It provides less analysis than a hornbook but more than a nutshell. You can see a complete list of the Understanding titles the Law Library owns by doing a series title search in UCLID or clicking on the links below.
Other useful study aids that do not fall under the above categories are:
Contracts (Farnsworth) by 
Constitutional Law: Principles and Policies by 
Mastering Multiple Choice for Federal Civil Procedure MBE Bar Prep and 1L Exam Prep by
This fourth edition (expanded with new questions, new answers, and new explanations) encompasses material reflecting all Civil Procedure Rule amendments through December 2021, along with applicable new case law through February 2022. This multiple choice practice book is designed for: (a) bar exam takers, who are preparing to take the MBE multiple choice bar exam, and (b) 1L law students, who are preparing to take their course examinations. This practice book offers practical, easy-to-follow advice on multiple choice exam-taking strategies, clear suggestions on effective multiple choice practicing techniques, and a robust set of Civil Procedure multiple choice practice questions with answers and explanations (designed to simulate MBE-style questions). Tables help users decode the tested-topic for each practice question.
