Skip to main content

Sociology -- Resources & Services (Main Library)

The Sociology Resources Portal provides links to a wide range of resources to facilitate course work, scholarship and career development.

WELCOME

Welcome to the University of Cincinnati Libraries' Sociology Resources & Services Portal. The purpose of this portal is to connect UC students, faculty and staff with the resources (electronic or print) they may require to complete course assignments, conduct research or advance their career.

How to use the Sociology Portal

Click on the category tabs on the left to access or identify resources, or use the Search box above to enter keywords for your topic or resource need.

Announcements/News

New Counseling and Social Work video collection

2/13/18

 
 
Counseling & Social Work collection of videos has been added to the UC Libraries' Films on Demand (over 3,680 sociology related videos) streaming video collection.  The new collection of  135 videos includes educational videos on social systems theory, battering, family counseling, welfare and more.  For additional sources of streaming video go to the Sociology Media page.

New Media Page

11/1/17

  The new Media page contains links to voluminous collections of streaming video content.   The streaming video medium is an invaluable instrument for learning new concepts and for understanding otherwise abstract phenomena.  Most of the content is free, and it can be added to Blackboard courses as a learning tool.   Additionally, a significant amount of the content is entertaining.

Employment Compensation

(8/7/17)

  Check out the new "Employment Compensation" section.  You will find links to compensation content and data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics and the American Sociological Association.

BrowZine

(6/1/17)

  BrowZine is another tool to help researchers stay current with research in their field.  Use BrowZine to create your own personal library of journals in your areas of interest.   BrowZine will automatically upload new issues to your personal library, and all the articles in your selected journals are available in full-text format.  Further, install the BrowZine  APP onto your tablet, iPad or smart phone and sync all of your devices to give you access to your personal library 24/7.  

Data Management Help

(3/15/2017)

 

The University of Cincinnati Libraries added a new information portal to assist researchers in managing and preserving research data, finding and acquiring external data, and in utilizing GIS techniques and software.  You can access the new Research Data & GIS Services portal here or via the navigation bar on the left, under Statistics & Data Sets.

Citation & Reference Management Tools

(10/4/2016)

  The new version of RefWorks is now available for students, faculty and staff.  Please visit the NEW RefWorks website to discover how this new product can facilitate the work you do here at the University of Cincinnati.

 Trial Expired

 

 No decision has been made on the Films on Demand collection.   (4/30/2014)

"Films on Demand" Trial

(3/2/2014)

 

(NEW) The UC Libraries has arranged for a trial of Films on Demand (a collection of streaming videos).  Please go to the Trial Databases page to peruse this exciting new resource and record your preference for acquiring this new resource.

OhioLINK

(12/17/2013)

 

Have a look at this new OhioLINK video for a pithy and illuminating reminder of the value of our membership to Ohio's outstanding academic library consortium.

New Edition of ASA’s Publishing Options

 

(1/9/2013)

 

The January 2013 electronic edition is vastly improved over previous editions. It now covers 180 journals publishing manuscripts in sociology and related fields.  Each journal entry includes the journal's Website, mission of the journal, annual circulation information, the journal's areas of interest and types of articles, submission requirements and statistics (including acceptance rate) and in many cases the ISI impact factor.  Visit the Sociology Portal’s Publishers and Publishing page for the access link and more information.

Sociology UC Libraries Portal Debut

 

(7/26/12)

 

This is the debut of the CampusGuides Sociology Resources Portal.  This site replaces the old Sociology Subject Guide pages.  Many resources from the old guide were transferred to the new Sociology Resources Portal, and a considerable amount of content has been added to the new portal.  Please browse this resource at your convenience, and feel free to offer recommendations for revisions or additions. Randall Roberts

 

 

 

 

RELATED GUIDES

Users of this Sociology Resources portal may find the following guides/links useful.

 

Additional Links:

 

 

Off Campus Access

UC Access Only

Preferred login for UC. First time users must download the VPN software. Login using your 6+2 and Central Login password.

If you don't have VPN software on your computer, use this to login with your UC or affiliate ID.


Questions?
Visit: Off Campus Access 
Call UCIT's Help Desk: 556-4357

Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati