Skip to main content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

Resources for CCM Searches / Research


NEWSPAPERS AND MEDIA

The following newspaper and media resources may prove useful to you when researching topics relevant to CCM areas of study. Select the appropriate tab below for:

  • Newspaper databases
  • Specific newspapers
  • Historic newspapers
  • Entertainment news
  • Media (Television, Radio, Film)
  • Accessing advertisements

return to Home

return to Home

 

Chicago Defender

(1909-1975) in ProQuest Historical Newspapers

Chicago Tribune

(1985-1996) in National Newspapers Premier
(1996-present) in National Newspapers Premier
(2008-3 months ago) in ProQuest Digital Microfilm
(1864-1872) in Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

Cincinnati Enquirer

(1841-59; 1874-Oct 2017) on Langsam Microfilm N4
(1999-present) in Cincinnati Enquirer
(2010-3 months ago) in ProQuest Digital Microfilm
(current) on free site
 

Cincinnati NEWSDEX
Produced by the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County, NEWSDEX provides indexing to Cincinnati newspapers. Selected coverage began in 1811, full-text coverage began in 1990. Newsdex indexes the Cincinnati Enquirer¸ Cincinnati Post¸ Cincinnati Herald¸ Cincinnati Magazine¸ Business Courier¸ and the Downtowner.

(1811-present) in Cincinnati NEWSDEX

(University of Cincinnati) News Record
For researchers interested in the University of Cincinnati and student life, digitized copies of the student newspaper, the News Record, provides significant insight into campus life, 1960-1980. The PDFs are text-searchable, and each issue has numerous photographs and advertisements from local businesses. The Archives and Rare Books Library holds archival copies of the printed News Record.

(1960-1980) in Digital Collections & Repositories @UCLibraries

Financial Times (London)

(1996-present) in ProQuest

Los Angeles Times

(1873-present (incomplete)) on Langsam Microfilm N52
(1985-1996) in National Newspapers Premier
(1996-present) in National Newspapers Premier
(2008-3 months ago) in ProQuest Digital Microfilm

New York Public Library Picture Collection
A collection of 30¸000 digitized images from books¸ magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs¸ prints and postcards¸ mostly created before 1923.

NYPL Picture Collection Online

The New York Times

(1857-present) available in UC Libraries (see online catalog record)
(1857-1922) in ProQuest Historical Newspapers
(1980-present) in National Newspapers Premier
(2008-3 months ago) in ProQuest Digital Microfilm

Pittsburgh Courier

(1911-2002) in ProQuest Historical Newspapers

The Times (London)

(1785-2011) in Times Digital Archive
(1985-present) in Access World News Research Collection
(2000-present) in Newspaper Source

The Sunday Times (London)
Completely separate from The Times of London¸ the Sunday Times is known for its investigative journalism¸ providing commentary and analysis of the week's news.

(1822-2006) in Sunday Times Digital Archive

The Wall Street Journal

(1984-present) in National Newspapers Premier
(2008-3 months ago) in ProQuest Digital Microfilm

The Washington Post

(1977-present) in LexisNexis Academic
(1987-1996) in National Newspapers Premier
(1996-present) in National Newspapers Premier
(2008-3 months ago) in ProQuest Digital Microfilm

return to Home

 

(see also "Specific newspapers" tab for individually listed historic newspapers)

return to Home

return to Home

return to Home

return to Home

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati