Research Guides: Researching in the Performing Arts @ CCM: Theatre

Theatre

THEATRE RESOURCES AND DRAMA

These links lead to resources relevant to the study of THEATRE.

Theatre research
Scripts
Theatre news
Theatre reviews
Theatre journals

return to More Research Resources
return to Research Guide Home

Theatre research

Digital Theatre +
Provides online access to a digital streaming video collection of unique films of current, leading British theatre productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts. Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play. Updates vary.
International Bibliography of Theater & Dance with Full Text
This online resource contains all of the content available in the print International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles¸ including Canadian Theatre Review¸ Dance Chronicle¸ Dance Teacher¸ Modern Drama¸ PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art¸ Research in Dance Education¸ Research in Drama Education¸ Studies in Theatre and Performance¸ TDR: The Drama Review¸ Theater¸ and many more. Additional full text available includes more than 50 books & monographs.
Periodicals Archive Online
Periodicals Archive Online is the new name for PCI Full Text - an archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts¸ humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship¸ spread across a wide variety of subject areas¸ direct from their computer.
Shakespeare in Performance: Prompt Books from the Folger Shakespeare Library
Shakespeare in Performance showcases rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare
Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare includes the complete text of eleven major editions of Shakespeares works, from the First Folio (1623) to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6. It also includes twenty-four separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works, and more than 100 adaptations, sequels, and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth, and nineteenth centuries.
English Prose Drama 1280-1915
Based on plays listed in the New Cambridge bibliography of English literature that were written or intended for the stage and wholly or primarily in prose. EPD contains more than 1,800 plays by approximately 400 authors from the Renaissance to the end of the nineteenth century
English Verse Drama
Database contains over 2,200 works by over 500 named authors and over 300 anonymous works from the Shrewsbury Fragments of the late thirteenth century through the Elizabethan and Jacobean periods to the end of the nineteenth century. A verse drama is generally defined as a work acted on or intended for the stage which is either completely in verse or includes significant verse content. EVD complements and extends the English Poetry database. It adds six centuries of poetry intended for the stage. The bibliographic basis is the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature. The database includes the works of all writers of verse drama listed in NCBEL and principally active before 1900. Editions chosen are usually contemporary with their authors. Masques and short dramatic pieces written primarily in verse, selected translations, works written for children and numerous adaptations are included. The entire text of each verse drama is included, together with any accompanying text written by the original author.
LitFinder
LitFinder provides the opportunity for complete appreciation and study of great literary works by offering access to more than 135¸000 full-text poems¸ stories¸ plays and more. It puts complete works - and additional information sources such as biographies¸ essays and explanations - into the hands of students and researchers for further study¸ evaluation and enjoyment

The African American Theater History Project
Blog post about: The Penumbra Theatre, of St. Paul, Minnesota and the University of Minnesota Libraries, "funded by the Institute of Museum and Library Services, are leading the African American Theater History Project, which addresses the challenge of inadequate access to the primary materials that document African American theater and cultural history, as collected in libraries and museums across the country and displayed online. Source: Cecily Marcus, "The African American Theater History Project: Bringing Together African American Theater and Cultural History from Libraries Around the Country."

return to TOP MENU

Scripts

This UC Library online catalog is most successful for discovering materials held in the CCM Library.

Scripts may be searched either by title or playwright.
For general subjects dealing with theater, search by KEYWORD.
- Note the SUBJECT TERM that is in the record.
- Click on the SUBJECT TERM to locate comprehensive list of books in the library
When you find a script in the online catalog, it may be located in the CCM Library, in Langsam Library, in the SW Depository, or elsewhere in UC Libraries.
- For a script held in a library other than the CCM Library, you may request that it be delivered to the CCM Library for you to collect. On the catalog record, click the "Request" button (at the top), login, select "CCM LibAtrium" as the pickup location, and submit. You will be notified when the item is ready for you to collect from the CCM Library Circulation Desk.

For scripts not available through the online catalog:

search on WorldCat FirstSearch
find the FirstSearch record for the desired edition
to request through interlibrary loan: click "Request item via ILLiad" in FirstSearch record

To request help or to suggest scripts to be added to the library's collections,

contact the CCM Library head, Dr Jenny Doctor (jenny.doctor@uc.edu)

return to TOP MENU

Theatre news

IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information
Internet Broadway Database (IBDB) provides a comprehensive database of shows produced on Broadway, including all "title page" information about each production. IBDB also offers historical information about theatres and various statistics and fun facts related to Broadway.
Information found in IBDB is derived primarily from theatre programs (in most cases from a production's opening night). Supplemental information was taken from newspaper and magazine reports, theatrical text books, interviews with theatre professionals, and League archives. For consistency's sake, information in the IBDB is not necessarily presented in the exact format as in the original theatrical program, but best efforts have been used not to alter the meaning of any function or billing. For more information, see disclaimer and copyright.
IBDB was created by the Research Department of The Broadway League, the national trade association for Broadway. The League has collected relevant Broadway information and statistics for many years. In 1996, the Research Department began to organize and expand the League's data collection in order to produce a website that would serve as a comprehensive history of Broadway for the benefit of League members, press, theatre professionals and enthusiasts.
Theater Communications Group
Theatre Communications Group (TCG), the national organization for theatre, leads for a just and thriving theatre ecology. Since its founding in 1961, TCG’s constituency has grown from a handful of groundbreaking theatres to over 700 Member Theatres and affiliate organizations and over 7,000 Individual Members. Through its programs and services, TCG reaches over one million students, audience members, and theatre professionals each year. TCG offers networking and knowledge-building opportunities through research, communications, and events, including the annual TCG National Conference, one of the largest nationwide gatherings of theatre people; awards grants and scholarships to theatre companies and individual artists; advocates on the federal level; and through the Global Theater Initiative, TCG's partnership with the Laboratory for Global Performance and Politics, serves as the U.S. Center of the International Theatre Institute. TCG is North America’s largest independent trade publisher of dramatic literature.
The Playwrights Forum
The Playwrights' Forum is moderated by professional playwrights, providing a safe environment where you can -
- give and receive support
- check-out marketing, publishing, & competition opportunities
- learn "the art & craft of writing"
- give & receive critiques of your work
- chat & gossip
These free services are sponsored by Stageplays.com as part of our commitment to encourage and develop new writing,
Theater Research in Canada / Recherches Théâtrales au Canada
Explores theatre in Canada from theoretical and/or historical perspectives, and reviews books dealing with all aspects of Canadian theatre.
CPANDA: Cultural Policy& the Arts National Data Archive
CPANDA, the Cultural Policy and the Arts National Data Archive, is the world's first interactive digital archive of policy-relevant data and statistics on the arts and culture, with data on artists, arts and cultural organizations, audiences, and funding for arts and culture. A collaborative effort of Princeton University's Firestone Library and the Princeton Center for Arts and Cultural Policy Studies, it is freely accessible on the World Wide Web to scholars, students, policy makers, journalists, artists, and members of the general public.
The Internet Theater Bookshop - Plays, Musicals, Scripts

return to TOP MENU

Theatre reviews

Theatre reviews in newspapers

LexisNexis™ Academic Search Page
CCM Library's guide to Newspapers and Media

return to TOP MENU

Theatre journals

Journals may be available as electronic full-text or print. Check both to determine whether or not the library subscribes.

Electronic Full-text
Print journals--search by title
If you don’t find the title in either place, please use interlibrary loan – ILLiad-Welcome!

return to TOP MENU