Skip to main content
Libraries

Resources for CCM Searches / Research

Collections, Spaces, Chandeliers


collections

The CCM Library collections currently comprises nearly 205,000 physical items:

>   44,000 print volumes (books and serials),
>   84,000 scores,
>   67,000 sound recordings,
>   4,000 media materials (videos, DVDs, CD-ROMs), and
>   5,600 microforms,


 

In addition to the physical collections, the library provides access to electronic resources, including databases specific to researching performance arts fields, major subject-specific dictionaries (e.g. Oxford Music Online), streaming audio and video services, e-journals, and e-books. For accessing these, see Top Resources and CCM Research -> Guide to Research Resources.


spaces

Since 2010, the CCM Library has been located in beautiful quarters on the 6th floor of the Blegen Library building.
 

image of Reading Room of CCM Library

>   The Reading Room recaptures the grandeur of the original 1930 library with its high ceiling, classical pillar effects, chandeliers, and paneling. The statues on high pedestals are from the Shillito Mansion (no longer extant), former home of the Conservatory of Music. “Music in the Gorno Library” concerts are given in this space, using the 1890 Steinway piano that was a gift to CCM.

>   To the south is the large score room storing the library’s impressive collection of music scores.

>   To the north is the journal room storing the library’s current (unbound) and bound periodical collections held in print.

>   Next door is a media/computer lab with workstations (many with MIDI keyboards), listening stations for playing physical sound recordings, as well as multiple electronic keyboards. The media lab offers scanning, printing, and copying facilities.

>   The spacious entrance atrium offers a single-service point circulation desk, serving patron needs, and display cases featuring materials from the Library's special collections.

>   A group study room near the Reading Room and a seminar room upstairs offer sound and audio-visual technologies for group study, group listening to media materials, and working on group projects.

>   A quiet study area upstairs offers private study carrels for upper-level and graduate students.


chandeliers

The chandeliers throughout the CCM library are original to the building and bear quotations in various languages.
 

image of CCM Library chandelier

>   Reading Room entrance chandelier, a Japanese proverb, translated as:
There are no age limits to learning. Anyone can learn anything if he studies it a hundred times.

>   Reading Room, south chandelier, a Hebrew inscription from Proverbs 3:13,
Happy is the man that findeth wisdom and the man that getteth understanding.

>   Reading Room, central chandelier, a Latin inscription from Terence,
Humani nihil a me alienum puto (Nothing human do I consider alien to myself”).

>   Reading Room, north chandelier, a Greek inscription from Democritus,
Do not aim at knowing everything.

>   Scores Room chandelier, a Chinese proverb,
Libraries are valuable to readers because they preserve the riches of the world from which come the beginning of wisdom. Everything in the heavens or upon the earth is for our appreciation.


 

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati