Research Guides: Researching in the Performing Arts @ CCM: Newspaper databases

Newspaper databases

ProQuest News & Newspapers
Indexing and full-text searching to news and newspaper resources covered by ProQuest. (coverage is broader than in Proquest's National Newspapers Premier).

Access World News
A database of articles from more than 11,500 US and international news sources, mostly newspapers, video news, and wire services. Very useful for access to state news coverage, and coverage by subject areas. Some full-colour, pdf exact replicas of papers, as well as e-text files.
Coverage: late 1950s - present
Newspaper Source
The database provides full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers¸ eighteen international newspapers, six newswires, and nine newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Los Angeles Times.
Coverage: 1967 - present

Newspapers and other online news sources from the 17th – 21st centuries
Use this guide to find out about the different historical and current newspaper resources, print and online, and how best to locate and use them. Offers filters by country/region. Guide prepared by the Bodleian Library, Oxford, for students and researchers looking for news and newspaper resources.
German Newspaper Portal
Discover historic newspapers issued in Germany from 1671 to 1994. Browse by title, by place, or by year of publication.
Part of the Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek (German Digital Library), which gives all users access to Germany's digitised cultural and scientific heritage.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press¸ as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles¸ topic overviews¸ statistics¸ primary documents¸ links to web sites¸ and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America¸ some dating back to 1985.
Coverage: Full Text; 1985 - present
Alternative Press Index (API)
Alternative Press Index (API) is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Born of the New Left, the API was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change.
Coverage: 1991 to present
Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996
Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century.
World News Connection
World News Connection (WNC) is compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources. WNC is particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources¸ allowing you to discover what is happening in a specific country or region. New information is entered into WNC every government business day, obtained from full text and summaries of newspaper articles¸ conference proceedings¸ television and radio broadcasts¸ periodicals¸ and non-classified technical reports. Generally¸ new information is available within 48-72 hours from the time of original publication or broadcast.
Coverage: November 1995 - December 31, 2013.
U.S. Newsstream
Abstracts of articles published from 1989 to the present in 27 U.S. newspapers.
Coverage: 1985 - present

return to TOP OF PAGE
return to Research Guide Home