Electronic resource. Comprehensive music reference source. Useful starting point for research. Contains over 50,000 signed (authored) articles, most with bibliographies. Updated continuously. Includes Grove Music Online, combining:
» The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed. (2001), » The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), » The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed. (2002), » The Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd ed. (2013), » The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, 2nd ed. (2014).
Also includes: » The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd ed. (2006), » The Oxford Companion to Music (2011).
Print resource: CCM Ref ML100 .M92 1994, 29 vols.
Equal in scope and significance to Grove. Text in German. Particularly useful for German and Central European subject areas.
Online version: https://mgg-online.com/ (no UC subscription for full access, but public view gives partial access).
Electronic resource. 4th ed., edited by Colin Larkin. [Oxford; New York]: Oxford University Press, 2009.
This encyclopedia's 30,000 entries cover all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music. The expanded Fourth Edition includes thousands of new entries on trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals.
Electronic resource. Edited by Don Michael Randel. Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2003; Boston: Credo Reference, 2012.
Wide ranging and reliable, this treasure trove includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments enriched by historical background; and articles that reflect today's beat, including popular music, jazz, and rock.
Print resource: CCM Ref ML102.J3 F4 1999. By Leonard Feather & Ira Gitler. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1999.
This book is based in part on Leonard Feather's Encyclopedia of jazz, The new encyclopedia of jazz, and The encyclopedia of jazz in the sixties and on a subsequent work ... The encyclopedia of jazz in the seventies. The biographical encyclopedia of jazz is a thorough revision, recasting, and expansion of these books.