International repository includes full text to over 4 million dissertations. Dissertations deposited from universities in 88 countries. Doctoral dissertations from 1861 to the present, with 350-word abstracts included since 1980. Master’s theses since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Online coverage since 1997. Grows by 130,000 items annually. Access is via ProQuest.
The database includes full-text to most UC PhD dissertations.
EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximize the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses. EThOS aims tp provide free access to the full text of as many theses as possible for use by all researchers to further their own research. There are over 500,000 records relating to theses awarded by over 120 institutions. Around 260,000 provide access to the full text thesis, either via download from the EThOS database or via links to the institution’s own repository. For the remaining records, which date back to 1800, 3/4 may be ordered for scanning through the EThOS digitisation-on-demand facility.
RIAN harvests to one portal the contents of the Institutional Repositories of 16 higher education libraries, in order to make Irish research material more freely accessible, and to increase the research profiles of individual researchers and their institutions. Searchable contents include dissertations, theses, books, patents, conference contributions, journal articles, reviews, newspaper contributions, etc.
The catalog of the University Documentation System (SUDOC) is the French collective catalog produced by libraries and documentation centers for higher education and research. Its mission is to list all the theses produced in France. Its more than 13 million bibliographic records describe all types of documents: books, theses, journals, electronic resources, audiovisual documents, microforms, maps, scores, manuscripts, old books, etc. The catalog also describes the collections of journals and newspapers from around 1,500 documentary establishments outside higher education (municipal libraries, documentation centers, etc.).
DART-Europe was founded in 2005 as a partnership of national and university libraries and consortia to improve global access to European research theses. DART provides access to over a million open access theses from 569 institutions in 29 European countries.