Researching in the Performing Arts @ CCM

An international network of over 30 organisations, IAMIC aims at becoming the foremost global network to facilitate the exchange of knowledge and expertise in the field of music documentation, promotion and information, leading to an increased international cooperation, performance and use of repertoire of music of all genres.

Cecilia is IAML(UK & Ireland)’s online searchable database of descriptions of music collections in libraries, archives, and museums throughout the UK and Ireland. At present there are descriptions of over 1800 collections from about 600 institutions including libraries, conservatories, museums, national trust houses, cathedral libraries, and specialist societies. The collections cover everything from scores, audio-visual materials, musical instruments, manuscripts, and a fascinating array of musical artefacts. Individual entries are kept up to date by the relevant institution.

Volumes in the Oxford Handbooks in Music series to which UC Libraries have online access.

Music e-books published by Oxford University Press, appearing in the Oxford Scholarship Online collection.

Volumes in the Cambridge Companions to Music series to which UC Libraries have online access.

Volumes in Routledge Handbooks Online series, subject = Arts, to which UC Libraries has online access. The link provides access to resources for which UC is licensed to provide full-text access or open access. Use facets to left if you wish to see further RHO resources.

ArchiveGrid includes over 7 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,400 archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies. ArchiveGrid is largely made up of MARC records from WorldCat.

SNAC is a free, online resource that helps users discover biographical and historical information about persons, families, and organizations that created or are documented in historical resources (primary source documents) and their connections to one another. Users can locate archival collections and related resources held at cultural heritage institutions around the world. SNAC is an international cooperative including, but not limited to, archives, libraries, and museums, that is working to build a corpus of reliable descriptions of people, families, and organizations that link to and provide a contextual understanding of historical records.

This guide outlines significant differences between libraries and archives / special collections through the following categories: 1) what types of materials are collected, 2) how they are organized, 3) how you may access them.
From the University of North Carolina website.

This guide is intended to help students and faculty find archival and manuscript collections held at Harvard and elsewhere. Databases involved in searching for archives and manuscripts are by no means self-explanatory, and success often depends on using very particular search methods. For example, the guide explains the important difference between a "catalog record" and a "finding aid".
From the Harvard Library website.

This guide helps to prepare students who aim to explore libraries when studying abroad. The guide provides introductions to planning to research in European, East Asian, Latin American, Middle East, and South Asian Libraries / Institutes.

This page includes links to archives and special collections of local or general interest. If you are looking for a specific geographic region, please use the sub-pages and choose the appropriate geographic area: Africa, the Americas, Asia, Australia and the Pacific, Europe, the Middle East (see below).
From UCLA Ethnomusicology Research Guide website.

From the Society of Ethnomusicology website

This is an annotated list of archival collections and repositories that may be of use in your popular music research. Please note this is not a comprehensive list, and we have also supplied you with links to search for additional collections and repositories that may be a better fit for your information needs.
From the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame website.

from Yale Library website

The LOC Manuscript Division seeks to acquire, preserve, and make available for research use personal papers and organizational records documenting the scope and diversity of the American experience. With more than twelve thousand collections and over seventy-three million items, the collections touch upon nearly every aspect of American history and culture. The Manuscript Division's holdings are strongest in American national government, federal judiciary, diplomacy, military history, American literature, women's history, Black history, history of science, and history of the Library of Congress.
Located on the first floor of the Library of Congress James Madison Memorial Building in Washington, D.C., the reading room is open Monday-Saturday, 8:30am-5:00pm. All researchers are strongly advised to contact the Manuscript Reading Room before visiting, as many collections are stored offsite or may have access restrictions, and advance notice is needed to make these items available for research use.

Links to libraries, archives, and research centers with collections focusing on American music.
From Society for American Music website.

NUCMC provides descriptions of manuscript and archival collections from a wide variety of American repositories. The information produced by NUCMC is shared with the WorldCat database.

An online catalog of the nationwide holdings of the National Archives and Record Administration (NARA) in the Washington, DC area, regional archives, and presidential libraries.

A gateway to archival resources from over 800 repositories across Canada, which contains linked archival repository databases for each province.

Archives Portal Europe is the online gateway to the archival heritage on and from Europe. Records related to the history of Europe are scattered around the world; at the same time, European archival institutions hold records that relate to the rest of the world. This portal makes myriads of archives dispersed around the territory available, bringing together descriptive records from more than 30 countries, in more than 20 languages (and 5 different alphabets), and from a large variety of institutions: national archives, community archives, parish archives, university archives, corporate and private archives.
The portal currently holds information from around 7000 archival institutions, of which over a thousand actively contribute content, and it holds more than 280 million archival descriptive units. However, it is constantly expanding to make more material available for research.

Guide to European and UK Libraries, Archives and Research Centers. See also tabs to archives in specific European countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, The Netherlands, Portugal, Russia/Soviet Union, Scandiavian countries, Spain, Switzerland
From the Columbio University Libraries website.

from the UCLA Ethnomusicology Research Guide website

The Department of Music of the Austrian National Library constitutes Austria's biggest music archive, and is both a modern academic research library and a place where the most valuable original musical manuscripts are kept. We hold music manuscripts, prints, librettos for operas and vocal works, literature on music studies, recording media, and the bequests of important Austrian composers, and make them accessible to users.

In every Austrian state, the local folk music organisation maintains an archive with a regional focus. The archives of the national association, the Austrian Folk Song Institute, is responsible for networking and for coordinating joint undertakings and projects at national and international levels, including fieldwork, events, exhibitions, training and publications.

The Arnold Schönberg Center, established in 1998 in Vienna, is an unique repository of Arnold Schönberg’s archival legacy and a cultural center that is open to the public.

The Vienna Phonogrammarchiv was established by the institution then known as the Imperial Academy of Sciences in 1899 and is the oldest archive of sound in the world. Over the course of its more than 100 years of existence, the archive’s collection has grown to include more than 50,000 recordings, totalling approximately 7,000 hours of playing time. The recordings come from various different parts of the world and document traditions and forms of expression that have been passed down, such as languages, dialects and music. The sound recordings were produced primarily for research purposes.

The Richelieu Library hosts the BnF reading rooms (Department of Manuscripts; Prints and Photography; Coins, Medals and Antiques; Performing Arts; Music), and the Library of the National Institute for Art History (INHA).

The Opéra Library & Museum was attached to the National Library in 1935. The Opéra library and archives were created in 1866 and the Opéra museum opened to the public in 1881.

This collection of manuscripts is one of the most extensive and significant of its kind: over 41,000 Occidental and 18,000 Oriental or Asian manuscripts, around 70,000 music manuscripts, around 1,100 sets of modern papers and over 36,000 autographs, covering from Sumerian cuneiform script plates of the 21st century BC to antique papyri and ostraka, on to medieval parchment manuscripts in the form of codices, to late medieval and (early) modern-age manuscripts on paper, which reach up to the present.

The Institute for Music preserves collections of composers and personalities of the Italian musical world active between the late 19th and early 21st centuries. They expressed themselves through a plurality of languages ​​and techniques, from late-Romantic symphonic style to serialism, from Neoclassicism to theatrical and audiovisual experimentation. These different areas of interest are evident in autograph and printed materials: notes, tables, sketches, drafts, and scores relating to instrumental, vocal, electronic, dance, theatre, cinema, radio and television music. There is a large quantity of manuscript, typescript, and printed texts, often produced by the composers, and a vast number of posters, programs, and newspaper clippings relating to events in which their music was scheduled for performance. The documents allow us to understand the liveliness of the musical and cultural panorama of the Italian and international twentieth century.

The institutions listed here are dedicated to the collection, archiving, and research of musical heritage in the Netherlands.
From the BeroepKunstenaar [Amsterdam University of the Arts] website.

The resources listed here will help you identify books, articles, audiovisual materials, manuscripts, registries, government records, and other unique materials that might not be located in Summit or WorldCat library search tools. Accessibility ranges from online open access to digital materials, to restricted access to unique items allowed only at an item's home institution.
From the University of Washington Libraries website.

This Centre for Swedish Folk Music and Jazz Research collects, preserves, and publishes materials in the fields of traditional folk, older popular music, Swedish jazz, traditional and social dance and emerging new traditions.

In 1965, the then Swedish Music History Archive (SMA) began to collect and make available information on archival material related to music. The collection has mainly taken place through surveys to the country's libraries, archives and museums about newly arrived music historical source material, but also through inventory trips. This resource is a summary of the information on the holdings of various institutions collected during the years 1965–2000. It provides an overview of music archives, collections, and other types of source material in the field of music, but is not comprehensive. Institutions with large music collections receive only general descriptions. The emphasis is on institutions where it is less obvious that music stocks exist and where the researcher may need help to find the material. It is arranged alphabetically by city, then by institution and archivist.

The Foundation is an international research center for the music of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries, with some hundred estates and collections from leading composers and performers. The Foundation's main purpose resides in the optimum care and study of its source materials. It facilitates and supports scholarly research into its archival holdings by granting access to the documents available on its premises.

Cecilia is an on-line guide to music collections in archives, libraries and museums in the UK and Ireland.

The Archives Hub provides discovery to unique sources, both physical and digital. Search across descriptions of archives held at over 390 institutions across the UK.

You may discover more than 32 million descriptions of records held by The National Archives and more than 2,500 archives across the country. Over 9 million records are available for download. Also includes research guides organized by topic.

We are now able to provide our Readers with access to the majority of the Library's special collections, including most of our manuscripts and archives. For the time being you’ll need to come on-site to consult offline versions of the specialist catalogues, and our reference teams will be on hand to help you with searching for and requesting items.
There is information on the page about other ways to discover BL manuscript materials (e.g. Cecilia).

Access 1,000 of our digitised manuscripts, available again since a cyber-attack in October 2023. Restoring access to these manuscripts has been a long process as we needed to check all the files to make sure they are safe to use. We will be adding more manuscripts soon, and improving how you can find what you need.

A detailed information guide—supplied by photographs and illustrations—to newcomers to the British Library, so they can thoroughly enjoy the experience and understand some of the requirements and regulations of the library before their arrival.

The National Archives has worked in partnership with the British Library to build a collection of free to view newspaper pages. This collection enables enhanced access to the diverse newspaper holdings of the British Library, with the titles spanning four centuries of news and covering not just Britain and Ireland, but the Caribbean, India, and beyond.

AIM25 provides online access to collection level descriptions from the archives of over one hundred higher education institutions, learned societies, local authorities, cultural organisations and livery companies within the London region, for the purposes of research, teaching and public enjoyment.

Links to archives in the UK, Ireland, and the US not associated with universities.
From St Olaf College website.

The Society of American Music's index to more than 25 centers of American music with descriptions explaining available resources at each.

Oral History of American Music (OHAM) originated in 1969, when Vivian Perlis, a reference librarian in the Yale School of Music, began recording interviews with friends and colleagues of Charles Ives. Today the collection comprises more than 2,900 audio and video interviews with composers, jazz musicians, and other major musical figures. The collection resides in Gilmore Music Library and is a key resource for the School of Music as well as for musicians, students, scholars, arts organizations, and the media worldwide. OHAM staff continue to record and preserve new interviews with emerging talents as well as established artists.

An exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. By examining those holdings afresh and querying them in a new and feminist light, the curators of the Women Working collection have aggregated thousands of items that illuminate women's history. The result is a unique digital collection comprising over 650,000 individual pages from more than 3,100 books and trade catalogs, 900 archives and manuscript items, and 1,400 photographs. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented.

A digital collection of more than 10,000 early cylinder recordings held by the UCSB Library. To bring these recordings to a wider audience, the Library makes them available to download or stream online for free.

The Library of Congress's National Jukebox includes early recordings digitally transferred from the collections at the Library’s Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and from other contributing libraries and archives. Recordings in the Jukebox were issued on record labels now owned by Sony Music Entertainment, which has granted the Library a gratis license to stream acoustical recordings. The Jukebox initially launched more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925. Content is increased regularly, with additional Victor recordings and acoustically recorded titles of other Sony-owned American labels, including Columbia, OKeh, and others. Detailed metadata about Jukebox recordings can often be found on the Discography of American Historical Recordings (DAHR) website.(http://victor.library.ucsb.edu/).

This database of master recordings made by American record companies during the 78rpm era is part of the American Discography Project (ADP), an initiative of the University of California, Santa Barbara (UCSB) and the Packard Humanities Institute.
DAHR currently includes information on more than 327,000 master recordings (matrixes) made by Victor, Columbia, OKeh, Berliner, Edison, Zonophone, Leeds & Catlin, Brunswick, and Decca. The ADP is a partner with the Library of Congress National Jukebox project and provides most of the cataloging data used in the Jukebox. As a result, 11,000 recordings made by Victor and Columbia between 1900 and 1925 can be streamed online. An additional 35,000 masters from Columbia, Okeh, Zonophone and Edison are also available via UCSB's streaming player or embedded YouTube links.
DAHR staff are currently editing masters for: all Bluebird issues; Victor's 1940s ethnic, popular and classical masters; Victor's 1950s Latin American recordings; selected ethnic and foreign Columbia issues; leased Gramophone masters issued by Victor; and Brunswick issues from 1927 through 1931.

The Lomax Digital Archive provides free access to audio/visual collections compiled across seven decades by folklorist Alan Lomax (1915–2002) and his father John A. Lomax (1867–1948). The entirety of Alan’s photographs and open-reel tape recordings—made between 1946 and 1991—are available here, as well as transcriptions of his 1940s radio programs, and a selection of clips from his film and video-work of the 1970s and 1980s. The LDA also contains several large audio collections the Lomaxes made, together and apart, on instantaneously recorded discs under the auspices of the Library of Congress’ Archive of Folk Song between 1933 and 1942. They are presented here in partnership with the LC’s American Folklife Center.

Alarmed by the collective loss of creative voices, musical recordings, and cultural spaces, Detroit Sound Conservancy was established in 2012. We create programs and provide leadership in the preservation of musical heritage in a spirit of partnership and celebration. Our arts and culture programming emerge from our commitment to careful archival practice and creative placekeeping. These programs include the Club Heaven Sound System, Detroit Sound Hall of Fame, and the Historic Blue Bird Inn Stage. Our collection includes the Graystone International Jazz Museum and Hall of Fame as well as thousands of additional artifacts, recordings, manuscripts, and oral histories.

The John Carter Brown Library is the preeminent research collection in the world for the study of the Americas prior to 1825. In its digital repositories are high resolution images from the Library's archive of early American images, map collection, and political cartoon collection, available through Luna. Scans of over 15,000 full books are available through Internet Archive. (Brown University)

Bronisław ("Nek") Mirskey (1887-1927) was a Polish violinist and conductor who worked as music director at several movie theaters across the United States between 1914 and 1927, including Toledo, Ohio, Punxsutawney and DuBois, PA, Richmond, Virginia, Washington D.C., New York, Boston, Dallas, and Kansas City. His efforts to improve the quality of musical accompaniment performed live for early silent film productions are an important part of the history of both music and cinema. Mirskey was considered one of the experts in the field, possessing a great intuition for selecting musical pieces, taking into account the tastes of the local audiences, and skillfully conducting orchestras in close synchronization with the films.
The collection contains the instrumental parts for approximately 3,500 musical compositions. The sets include numerous markings, marginalia, and manuscripts in Mirskey's hand, revealing certain patterns of preparing music material for performance. The open-access online collection includes digital scans of all the instrumental parts in each set, including those with performance markings.

Music Online: Popular Music Library from Alexander Street contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more. Alexander Street Press's platform: Music Online: Listening.

Music Online: American Music is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more. Alexander Street Press's platform: Music Online: Listening.

Music Online: Jazz Music Library is a large and comprehensive collection of streaming jazz — with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. Alexander Street Press's platform: Music Online: Listening.

Access archival issues of Billboard magazine, published weekly, documenting over a century of news relevant to many kinds of popular musics, as well as to the music and recording industries.

Full text coverage, 1988 to present.

Variety has been published since December 16, 1905, and is still published today. It was launched as a weekly periodical covering theater and vaudeville, with its headquarters in New York City. Variety's website features entertainment news, reviews, box office results, plus a credits database, production charts and film calendar. The UC Libraries holds some issues from the Variety archives on microfilm (1986-93; search in UC Libraries online catalog).

Coverage: 1981 to present.

Coverage: 1996 to present.

Coverage 1997 to present.

Coverage: 2004 to present.

NME brings you the latest music and pop culture news and reviews, along with videos and galleries, band features, concert tickets, magazine, radio, etc.
Coverage: 2017 to present (selected full-text only).

Rock Hall EDU, our free digital learning platform, is full of resources and activities that use the power of rock & roll to engage students of all ages. What you'll find includes digitized primary source materials from the Rock Hall's Library and Archives (see also below). Rock and Roll Hall of Fame platform.

Search through the Rock Hall's archival collections, including photographs, manuscripts, business records, posters, handbills, recordings, and much more from performers, bands, record label executives, recording studios, and the fans. Search also for books, scores, magazines, CDs, LPs, DVDs, and other published items in the Rock Hall collections. Rock and Roll Hall of Fame platform.

Links to internet resources focusing on American popular genres, including jazz, blues, country, ragtime, rhythm and blues, rock, folk, bluegrass, new age, and hip hop. Compiled by the Society for American Music.

Popular Culture explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. The resource allows users to study this exciting period using manuscript and rare printed material, as well as photographs, ephemera, and memorabilia. The interactive chronology, extensive visual resources and video footage provide valuable contextual background to the materials included in this collection.

Songtrust is committed to closing the gender gap in the music industry. It believes in helping to close the gender disparity we too often see in the music industry. This page leads to a collection of organizations and resources to support and empower the women in music in your community.

Search for articles on Women in Rock music @ America: History & Life. EBSCO platform.

Here are 30 of our favorite bands fronted by inspiring female artists: from Blondie to Garbage to Paramore to Florence + the Machine and beyond.

Books, databases, list of inductees, archives, and other resources at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Cleveland.

The Women Who Rock Community Research Project brings together musicians, media-makers, performers, artists, scholars and activists to explore the role of women and popular music in the creation of cultural scenes that anchor social justice movements in the Americas and beyond. This multifaceted endeavor reshapes conventional understandings of music and cultural production by initiating collective methods of research, teaching, and community and scholarly collaboration. We encompass several interwoven components: an annual participant-driven community engagement conference and film festival; project-based coursework at the graduate and undergraduate levels; and an oral history archive that ties the various components together.
The Project is developed through collaborations between University of Washington faculty, graduate students, community members and scholars of gender, race and sexuality in music and social justice movements.

Women Who Rock: Vision, Passion, Power is a provocative exhibition that illustrates the importance of women in the world of popular music from the 1920s to present day. It highlights the flashpoints, the firsts, the best, and the celebrated and sometimes lesser-known women whose artistry advanced the progress of rock-and-roll music. Featuring more than 250 artifacts and performance videos, the exhibition moves through rock-and-roll eras, demonstrating how women have been engines of creation and change.
This exhibit was organized by the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Cleveland, OH, and on display at the National Museum of Women of the Arts, Washington, DC, from September 2012 to January 2013.

Excerpted from Steve Morse’s Berklee Online course Rock History, this list chronicles some of the most influential females up to the turn of the twenty-first century.

These music leg­ends broke the charts and cap­tured our hearts. Check out these titles to learn more about the suc­cess­es and strug­gles of these singers and songwriters.
List curated by the staff of the Dekalb County Public Library, Decatur, Georgia.

Philip Auslander argues that the question of “women-in-rock” cannot be separated from the way the history of rock is biased toward a very limited canon of “great” artists, most of whom are indeed male, because this bias excludes historical consideration of the vast majority of rock musicians, among whom are a significant number of female players. To frame the question as a search for “great” women guitarists is to perpetuate both this problem and the mythologizing of “guitar gods” in rock as if the contributions of other musicians are less important. ... If one’s listening experience during the psychedelic rock era was not limited to the American rock bands eventually deemed significant by the history books, that is, if one had frequently been hearing music in clubs at the time, then one’s odds of having seen women performing in rock bands are far greater than is usually suggested. Consequently, one’s understanding of women’s status in rock during the time at which rock came into its own as a distinct musical genre might be quite different than the impression conveyed by the standard histories.
Article in theartsection: An Online Journal of Art and Cultural Commentary.

These digitised volumes contain approximately 10,000 musical compositions that have been individually indexed. The volumes mainly consist of partbooks of vocal polyphony, but also include some early printed tablatures for keyboard or plucked string instruments. They include music printed in Italy, Germany, France and England.
To browse Early Music Online via Royal Holloway’s digital repository: https://repository.royalholloway.ac.uk/access/hierarchy.do?topic=52facdbd-19ce-2b92-dbd5-434289d29e8b&sort=rank&page=1
The British Library Catalogue gives access to catalogue records for all the digitised volumes, searchable by composer name and title of composition: http://explore.bl.uk/primo_library/libweb/action/search.do?vid=BLVU1

This project puts sixteen sets of books expertly crafted by the Parisian printer Nicolas Du Chemin between 1549 and 1568 before a diverse audience of modern scholars and musicians in ways that prompt renewed understandings of their meanings and the books as cultural artifacts. In them, we can trace changing literary tastes, musical fashions, and above all the impact of the relatively new medium of printing on musical culture of the day.
Here readers find facsimiles of all sixteen sets of books, plus modern transcriptions, scholarly commentaries, and tools for research. There are also links to related projects, including a broader database of the sixteenth-century chanson repertory, a project devoted to the reconstruction of pieces with missing voice parts, and another devoted to the study and editing of the literary texts of the chansons themselves. All of this has been assembled under a number of headings designed to encourage researchers, students, and performers to explore the rich world of the chanson at mid century.

Chopin’s First Editions Online (CFEO) project’s chief aim was to create an online resource uniting the first impressions of Chopin’s first editions. This unprecedented virtual collection provides direct access to significant primary source materials relevant to the composer’s music. The full score of each first impression appears with commentary on significant textual features. There are also excerpts from the Annotated Catalogue of Chopin’s First Editions.
The c5,500 digital images in the CFEO archive were obtained from five lead institutions (Bibliothèque Nationale de France, Bodleian Library, British Library, Narodowy Instytut Fryderyka Chopina, and University of Chicago Library), and seventeen other libraries. The CFEO project was funded from March 2004 to August 2007.

A detailed catalogue, based on scholarly sources, of early vocal music, including 15,012 movements of Handel, JS Bach, Haydn, Mozart, CPE Bach, Buxtehude etc. Current projects include cataloguing Rameau, Telemann, Purcell, Schütz, and Mozart. Search by movement, text, theme, etc.

New entries from The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, second edition (2014), now available on Grove Music Online.

SEM webpage collecting resources for the study and practice of ethnomusicology.

Useful resource guide organized geographically by country.

The British Library's collections of ethnographic sound recordings are available for non-commercial research, study, and private enjoyment.

The Lomax Digital Archive provides free access to audio/visual collections compiled across seven decades by folklorist Alan Lomax (1915–2002) and his father John A. Lomax (1867–1948). The entirety of Alan’s photographs and open-reel tape recordings—made between 1946 and 1991—are available here, as well as transcriptions of his 1940s radio programs, and a selection of clips from his film and video-work of the 1970s and 1980s. The LDA also contains several large audio collections the Lomaxes made, together and apart, on instantaneously recorded discs under the auspices of the Library of Congress’ Archive of Folk Song between 1933 and 1942. They are presented here in partnership with the LC’s American Folklife Center.

This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.

Explore the history of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947, through the wonderfully rich and diverse manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland.

Digital musicology can be understood as a branch of digital humanities focusing on musical topics. Examples take on a variety of forms and styles, not limited to digital editions, sound archives, computational analysis, etc. This guide is intended to demonstrate extant resources and cultivate the potential for new projects. It is divided into three main categories: tools, projects, and open access aggregators+resources.
Guide from Duke University Libraries

On this website, you can browse or search an open-source bibliography of specialized digital resources and born-digital scholarship in music. Here you may tour the world of digital humanities in music, loosely interpreted. The entries in this directory were compiled over a period of five years: 2018-2023.
A project of the Digital Humanities Interest Group of the Music Library Association.

This page features a range of interdiscplinary projects relevant to music that discuss engaging research questions using digital humanities techniques (such as static visualizations, interactive maps, archive databases). New projects are added as discovered, if they are worth sharing.
The page is organized into three sections: Musical Models, Sound-Related Models, and Other Humanitites Models.
Project of St Olaf's College.

Digital Musicology is a forum for musicological research engaged with digital technology. The term “musicology” is used in its broadest sense: including more traditional approaches, such as ethnomusicology, historical musicology, and music theory, as well as newer ones, such as music information retrieval, music library studies, and music perception and cognition. Articles engage not only with Western art music, but also non-Western art music and popular music from any regional tradition. Equal interests are represented for scholarship that engages with musical scores and recorded music, as well as scholarship engaged with written texts about the music itself or the context in which music is created or received.
The Digital Musicology specialty section showcases papers that describe new methods, tools, and infrastructures, papers that use existing technologies for both big and small data investigations of musicological questions, and papers that comparatively evaluate existing approaches. It also showcases papers that consider technical or philosophical issues related to the acquisition, representation, and standardization of musicological data. Digital Musicology is committed to supporting reproducible research, and encourages authors to make their algorithms, implementations, and datasets freely available, whenever possible.

DIAMM (the Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music) is a leading resource for the study of medieval manuscripts. We present images and metadata for thousands of manuscripts on this website. We also provide a home for scholarly resources and editions, undertake digital restoration of damaged manuscripts and documents, publish high-quality facsimiles, and offer our expertise as consultants.

The Roaring 'Twenties extends Emily Thompson's groundbreaking 2002 book, The Soundscape of Modernity: Architectural Acoustics and the Culture of Listening in America, 1900-1933, into new sensory registers and toward new audiences. The project richly draws from the Municipal Archives of the City of New York, cataloging over 600 unique complaints about noise around 1930 and reproducing over 350 archival pages. It also includes 54 excerpts of Fox Movietone newsreels -- early sound experiments that captured and remediated the sounds of New York City -- as well as hundreds of photographs and print materials. The data is mined through human filtering and detailed close readings. Presented here through a stylized multimedia interface, the site invites users to linger with the artifacts and to listen and read with care.

Database of records that include authoritative, detailed, multilingual descriptions of digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects related to the performing arts around the world, plus information about related pieces, productions, performers, and creators. Approximately 4,500 objects are currently available. GloPAD is a collaborative venture, and its development is based at Cornell University.

Musical Passage tells the story of a little-known record of early African diasporic music. The project aims to shed light on this unique document and to further efforts to understand the early history of this fundamental cultural movement.

Vectors launched in 2005 as a journal devoted to multimodal research, often featuring projects produced collaboratively through a fellowship model. Although that model is now outgrown, Vectors continues to offer a platform for experimenting with the forms and potentials of online scholarship. Vectors continues its role of pushing the boundaries of research in the arts, humanities and social sciences. As always, our goal is to showcase work that is not easily contained by the conventions - often still limited to portable documents and embedded video files - of contemporary electronic publication.