Research Guides: Researching in the Performing Arts @ CCM: Media (TV, film, radio, social media)

Media studies (TV, film, radio, social media)

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is a comprehensive bibliographic and full text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory¸ preservation & restoration¸ writing¸ production¸ cinematography¸ technical aspects¸ and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 270 publications (and selected coverage of more than 300)¸ as well as full text for more than 70 journals and nearly 50 books
Foreign Broadcast Information Electronic Index
An index to the FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government covering political¸ economic¸ scientific¸ and cultural issues and events throughout the world. Translations of broadcasts¸ news agency transmissions¸ newspapers¸ periodicals¸ and government statements from nations around the world are the sources of this information.
Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996
Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century.

American Radio & TV History
A comprehensive resource for American broadcasting history (AM, FM, TV, and related publications).
BBC Radio and TV history
This site contains the BBC listings information that the BBC printed in Radio Times between 1923 and 2009. There are more than 5 million programme listings in Genome. You may use the search function to search for BBC programmes, people, dates and Radio Times editions. Through the listings, you will find thousands of BBC radio and TV programmes, some of which may be available to view or listen to on the BBC website. This is a historical record of the planned output of the BBC services at any given time. Note that to see the actual (rather than planned) output, when it varies, you must look at the BBC's ‘Programmes as Broadcast’ records (not yet available online).
Billboard 1920-2016
Billboard was founded in 1894 as a trade publication for bill posters. In the early twentieth century, it covered entertainment and began focusing on the music industry as the jukebox, phonograph, and radio became commonplace. During the second half of the century, it published pieces involving news, opinion, reviews, events, and style. It became especially known for its music charts, including the Hot 100 and Billboard 200, tracking the most popular songs and albums in different genres.
Billboard 1988-present
Access to recent issues of Billboard. The VPN may need to be on for this link to work.

SRDS Media Planning Platform
Information on circulation¸ advertising rates¸ newspapers¸ magazines¸ computer and community publications¸ radio and television and other media. The library subscribes to the following: Business Publication Advertising Source¸ Consumer Magazine Advertising Source¸ Direct Marketing List Source¸ Newspaper Advertising Source¸ Radio Advertising Source and TV and Cable Source.
Coverage: Current