This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Offers more than 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876. Focusing largely on the 18th century¸ Series 1 is based on Clarence S. Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers¸ 1690-1820" and other authoritative bibliographies. The core of the collection is formed by American Antiquarian Society (AAS) founder Isaiah Thomas' own collection of colonial and early national period newspapers and supplemented by issues added by Thomas' successors at the AAS.
African American Newspapers¸ 1827-1998 provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. Newly digitized¸ these newspapers published by or for African Americans can now be browsed and searched as never before. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
This collection of African-american Newspapers contains information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s¸ and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day¸ including the Mexican War¸ Presidential and congressional addresses¸ Congressional abstracts¸ business and commodity markets¸ the humanities¸ world travel and religion. They also contain large numbers of early biographies¸ vital statistics¸ essays and editorials¸ poetry and prose¸ and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.
Coverage: 1827 - 1876
This collection allows researchers to discover early America through popular music by gathering publications dedicated to various aspects of music, from the sacred to the secular, from the political to the comic. Titles in the collection include The Family Minstrel, The Musical Journal, Trumpet Notes: A Monthly Paper Devoted to the Interests of Bands and Orchestras, Aeolian Piano Forte Journal, the Musical Miscellany, Vox Humana, and The New Yorker Musik Zeitung.
Searchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817)--the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media.
More than twelve hundred titles and almost one million pages are included. These rare and restricted documents are now available online and students and academics can conduct full-text searches of titles spanning from Parliamentary papers and the London daily news to the latest English humour of the 1600s.
Formerly Nineteenth Century Masterfile (formerly Poole's Plus), Eight Centuries (2020- title) describes itself as "the digital index of the nineteenth century." The original component was an online version of W.F. Poole's Index to Periodical Literature¸ 1802-1906. The database is now enhanced with indices to other periodicals¸ books¸ newspapers¸ and government documents of the 19th century.
Coverage: 1802 - 1906
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2016) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
Coverage: 1851 - 2017
The Chicago Defender (1910-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Pittsburgh Courier: 1911-2002 offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London)¸ using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured¸ with all articles¸ advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.