Research Guides: Researching in the Performing Arts @ CCM: Diversity & Performing Arts

Diversity & Performing Arts Resources

DIVERSITY & PERFORMING ARTS RESOURCES

These links lead to resources relevant to the study of DIVERSITY & PERFORMING ARTS TOPICS.

Humanities reference tools
Discovering music of Black, Indigenous, people of color (BIPOC) musicians
Black & African American experience / studies
North American Indian experience / studies
Latine experience / studies / discovering music
Gender, LGBTQ+, Women's, Men's, Trans studies
Disability experience / studies
American history / studies
Non-American literature / history
Digital humanities
Visual arts studies
Media studies (film, TV, radio, social media, etc.)
Performance resource

return to More Research Resources
return to Research Guide Home

Humanities reference tools

Project MUSE
Project Muse is a periodicals database covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, gender studies, and more. Full-text access to articles from over 40 journals in the humanities, starting in 1995.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
This multidisciplinary database covers the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1¸100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals¸ as well as individually selected¸ relevant items from over 6¸800 major science and social science journals. Coverage: 1980 - present.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust was conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and the University of California system to establish a repository for these universities to archive and share their digitized collections. Partnership is open to all who share this grand vision
Academic Search Complete
This database has more than 5,300 full-text periodicals including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, ethnic & multicultural studies, geography, geology, law, mathematics, music, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and many other fields in the sciences, technology, engineering, and the humanities.
AtoZ Maps Online
"AtoZ Maps Online.com is the worlds largest subscription-based database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection every month."--Database home page

Ukraine LibGuide (from University of Colorado Boulder)
This guide was created after the Russian invasion of Ukraine in February 2022. In this guide you will find resources about the performing arts and cultural heritage of Ukraine, all of which have been disrupted by the war. Efforts to document and preserve this heritage are included here. This is a living document and will be updated as the conflict continues.

return to TOP MENU

Discovering music of Black, Indigenous, people of color (BIPOC) musicians

Black, Indigenous, people of colour (BIPOC) musicians
Use this guide to explore the musical traditions, compositions, and scholarship of Black, Indigenous, people of colour (BIPOC) individuals. This is not an all-encompassing guide to BIPOC composers, but rather a list of resources to help start the scholarly conversation and encourage the study and performance of more diverse repertoire (music theory, music literature, audiovisual, & general resources, repertoire, professional associations, publishers & vendors, online blogs podcasts etc, and other useful subject guides).
Guide from McGill University Library, Montreal, Quebec, Canada.
Music by Black Composers
Music by Black Composers (MBC) was born from the realization that young musicians learning classical music seldom, if ever, have the opportunity to study and perform music written by Black composers. This omission silences a rich vein of musical creation from global cultural consciousness. With a multi-pronged approach, MBC is spreading awareness of and access to music by Black composers to children and adults alike in ever-expanding ways.
In our pedagogical efforts, we are supplementing the current instrumental training methods by publishing books of music exclusively by Black composers from around the world. Starting with strings, each instrument will be the subject of multiple volumes, which will be graded by difficulty from beginner to advanced concerto-level playing. We also intend to publish music for wind and brass instruments, band, orchestra, and chamber ensembles. In addition to making this repertoire available, our books will also educate through articles and interviews. Each volume will include biographies for every composer, features on Black classical music making throughout history, and profiles of Black role models in classical music, past and present. Volume 1 for Violin (roughly equivalent in difficulty to Suzuki books 1-2) was released in October 2018.
MBC is also developing other educational and informational resources for students, performers, and members of the broader community. We are creating an online database which will provide information about works written by Black composers. Designed for use by students, teachers, performers, administrators, researchers, and librarians, it will contain facts about each composer and about individual pieces, information about where to find the music, links to recordings, and more. Other online resources include a bibliography of publications about Black classical music making, and a directory of living composers for those commissioning new works or simply seeking information. We also have a coloring book that features 40 of the most important Black composers from the 18th-21st centuries, and a timeline poster that features more than 300 Black composers from around the world.
Composers of Color Resource Project
This Humanities Commons Group webpage houses resources for music by composers of color. This site aims to extend beyond “traditional” topics of music theory and notated music in the Western art music tradition. Analytical notes are being made available, while a Google Sheet summarizes music theory topics that can be taught using the repertoire. We welcome submissions of annotated scores and lesson plans that incorporate the music of composers of color. This site will be continually updated with more resources for music theory instructors.
As a quick and manageable first step towards diverse and inclusive music theory pedagogy, many of the scores on this site are readily adaptable to the classroom environment. Simply swap out some "traditional" examples that you fall back on when teaching to introduce the representation of voices of color and non-canonic composers. An easy way to get started is to check out the examples collated in the "Music Theory Examples by BIPOC Composers."
It will be important to consider how to contextualize these examples—and more broadly, how to contextualize all musical examples. Online resources, as well as more details on music by composers of color are available, and biographical information for each composer is linked at the composer’s page.
If you want more thoroughgoing studies of pieces by composers of color, explore the Analytical Notes and Annotated Scores page. There, you’ll find links to a bookmarked Google Doc, which houses crowdsourced notes from group analysis meetings.
African Diaspora Music Project
Our vision is to:
 To create a repository for concert works (those intended for the concert stage; aka classical works) of composers of the African Diaspora. The African Diaspora in this context is defined as those composers throughout the world descended from people of West and Central Africa.
 To provide access to scores, recordings, and programmatic information about these composers and their extant works for students, teachers, professionals and presenters.
 To encourage the research, exploration and performance of these works.
 To assist students who wish to enter the George Shirley African American Art Song and Operatic Aria Competition with appropriate repertoire choices.
Music By People from the African Diaspora
This guide is designed to help you find information about Black music and musicians, in the United States and throughout the world. Use this as a starting point, or browsing tool.
Guide from Sibley Music Library, Eastman School of Music.
Works by Composers of African Descent in Edwin A. Fleischer Collection of Orchestral Music
The Edwin A. Fleisher Collection of Orchestral Music is the largest lending library of orchestral performance material in the world. It contains over 22,000 titles and continues to grow into the 21st century. The Collection houses virtually the entire standard repertoire and is internationally known for its many rare and out-of-print works. It is a unique source of 19th- and 20th-century American music.
The catalogue lists names, dates, and nationalities of composers, as well as instrumentation, and titles of complete, incomplete, and uncirculated sets held by the collection. Compiled by Gary Galván, Free Library of Philadelphia.
The African American Art Song Alliance
Founded in 1997, this is the home of interchange between performers and scholars interested in art song by African-American composers. Here you will find information and links to assist with your discovery of our contribution to song. Of particular interest are our pages featuring lists of composers, performers, scholars, and links to useful websites and projects.
Cello Works by Black Composers
CelloBello’s mission has always been to foster a global cello community, and to that end we hope this new database may help encourage new curiosities and explorations into this repertoire that, historically, has not been equally represented on our concert stages or in our music schools.
Over time we hope to expand our offerings to include a larger BIPOC database (highlighting all composers who identify as Black, Indigenous, or People of Color). However, given the urgency of the struggle for racial equity and justice in the United States we felt it paramount to begin by focusing first on the plethora of contributions made by Black composers.
The information contained in the catalog is displayed using the criteria of composers’ name and personal website link (where available), as well as the works’ title, date of composition, duration, and instrumentation. Although this catalog does not grant specific information about purchasing scores for all of the pieces listed, it facilitates the search of scores and provides links of contact to the composers, where applicable.
Institute for Composer Diversity
 The Institute for Composer Diversity (ICD) works to encourage the discovery, study, and performance of music written by composers from underrepresented groups. We do this to positively impact three important groups: audiences and students who will engage with the music, conductors, performers, and educators who serve to bring that music to those audiences and students, and the composers themselves.
 ICD works in three main areas: databases, analysis, and action.
* ICD databases have been created to allow the musical community to discover works by composers from underrepresented groups.
* ICD analysis studies programming trends to provide evidence on where diverse programming is occurring and where it is needed.
* ICD action provides simple and effective ideas toward more diverse and inclusive repertoire decisions.
 The ICD operates within the School of Music at the State University of New York at Fredonia.
Music Resources for Diversity, Equity, and Antiracism
The aim of this research guide is to amplify the repertoire, music, and scholarship about and by Black, Indigenous, People of Color (BIPOC). This guide is a starting point for faculty and instructors who want to decenter their pedagogical practices, performances, concert programming, or research:
 identify resources for bringing diversity, equity, and inclusion into teaching, performance, and research,
 learn more about musical traditions of underrepresented people and groups,
 locate repertoire beyond the Western European music canon.
Students may find this guide useful for identifying repertoire beyond the traditional canon and learning about music and musical traditions of BIPOC.
A number of resources in this guide are open access or freely available online, while others can be used to identify repertoire, literature, or other content that may be held at Tufts Libraries or other academic libraries.
Guide from Tufts University Libraries.
Composers Diversity Collective
An organization of music creators who are achieving a workplace environment in the entertainment industry as diverse as our society. Our core membership is composers of diverse backgrounds, but we welcome all industry professionals who demonstrate a commitment to these goals in their hiring and mentoring practices. Our Mission:
1) To increase our visibility to industry producers and creatives via networking opportunities and performances.
2) To offer education and mentorship to emerging composers in underserved communities.
3) To service the community through music.

return to TOP MENU

Black & African American experience / studies

Oxford African American Studies Center
Comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture¸ coupled with precise search and browse capabilities. Features over 7¸500 articles from Oxford's reference works¸ approximately 100 primary sources with specially written commentaries¸ over 1¸000 images¸ over 100 maps¸ over 200 charts and tables¸ timelines to guide researchers through the history of African Americans and over 6¸000 biographies. The core content includes: Africana¸ which presents an account of the African and African American experience in five volumes ; the Encyclopedia of African American history ; Black women in America¸ 2nd ed ; and the African American national biography
African American Poetry 1760-1900
African-American Poetry 1760-1900¸ published by ProQuest, and formerly by Chadwyck-Healey¸ contains the full text of almost 3¸000 poems written between 1760 and 1900. Poets included are among those listed in Afro-American Poetry and Drama¸ 1760-1975¸ by W.P. French et al.
Coverage: 1760 - 1900
African American Newspapers: 19th century¸ Parts 1-5 (Accessible Archives)
This collection of African-american Newspapers contains information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s¸ and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day¸ including the Mexican War¸ Presidential and congressional addresses¸ Congressional abstracts¸ business and commodity markets¸ the humanities¸ world travel and religion. They also contain large numbers of early biographies¸ vital statistics¸ essays and editorials¸ poetry and prose¸ and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.
Coverage: 1827 - 1876
African American Newspapers¸ 1827-1998 (Readex)
African American Newspapers¸ 1827-1998 provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. Newly digitized¸ these newspapers published by or for African Americans can now be browsed and searched as never before. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
Coverage: 1827-1998
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
The Chicago Defender (1910-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center. Coverage: 1910-1975
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Pittsburgh Courier: 1911-2002 offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center. Coverage: 1911-2002
Independent Voices
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America¸ some dating back to 1985.
Coverage: Full Text; 1985 - present

Black History Resources
Black History & African American History Resources for Schools, Libraries & Classrooms. Black History Resources LLC was created to provide educators, teachers, schools & libraries with resources to educate students and adults on Black History, African American History and African History as it pertains to all facets and periods of our shared history. Black History shouldn't just be taught in February. It should be woven into the history curriculum at all grade levels throughout the school year so that it accurately reflects the reality of Black men and women's contributions not just to American History, but also to the collective history of humanity.
The resources we publish, distribute, and curate are intended to fill gaps and expand American history & world history curriculum to be more inclusive of historic African American people, achievements, events and places, especially those often overlooked by textbooks and current curricula.
Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade
This digital memorial raises questions about the largest slave trades in history and offers access to the documentation available to answer them. European colonizers turned to Africa for enslaved laborers to build the cities and extract the resources of the Americas. They forced millions of Africans across the Atlantic to the Americas, and from one part of the Americas to another. Analyze these slave trades and view interactive maps, timelines, and animations to see the dispersal in action.
SNCC Digital Gateway
In 2013, the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC—pronounced “Snick”) Legacy Project and Duke University formed a partnership to chronicle the historic struggles for voting rights and to develop ongoing programs that contribute to a more civil and inclusive democracy in the 21st century. This documentary website tells the story of how young activists in SNCC united with local people in the Deep South to build a grassroots movement for change that empowered the Black community and transformed the nation. The SNCC Digital Gateway portrays how SNCC worked to take control of their political and economic lives.

return to TOP MENU

North American Indian experience / studies

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture¸ history¸ and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology¸ multicultural relations¸ gaming¸ governance¸ legend¸ and literacy. BIPNA contains more than 80¸000 citations for books¸ essays¸ journal articles¸ and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
Coverage: 16th Century - present
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America
Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
McKenney & Hall: History of the Indian Tribes of North America
McKenney & Hall: History of the Indian Tribes of North America is a collection of 125 images of lithographic and chromolithographic plates. Thomas Loraine McKenney (1785-1859) served as Commissioner of Indian Affairs from 1824 to 1830. In that capacity he commissioned and collected portraits of Native Americans for his Gallery in the War Department. McKenney's goal was to publish a record of vanishing peoples: portraits¸ biographical sketches and a history of North American Indians. He accomplished this in the first issue of History of the Indian Tribes of North America¸ published in three volumes between 1838 and 1844. James Hall (1793-1868) provided the text.
Szwedzicki¸ C.: The North American Indian Works
C. Szwedzicki: The North American Indian Works is a collection of 364 images and 6 texts. Between 1929 and 1952 C. Szwedzicki¸ a publisher in Nice¸ France¸ produced six portfolios of North American Indian art. The publications were edited by American scholars Oscar Brousse Jacobson¸ Hartley Burr Alexander and Kenneth Milton Chapman. Many of the images were published as pochoir prints which are similar in appearance to silk screen prints. These works represent original works by 20th Century American Indian artists. Important documentation of the Battle of the Little Big Horn is provided in the reproduction of the now lost ledger art of Amos Bad Heart Bull.
Independent Voices
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America¸ some dating back to 1985.
Coverage: Full Text; 1985 - present

online catalogue search: subject = "Indians of North America -- music"
Discover items in the UC Libraries collection assigned to the subject heading Indians of North America -- music and followed by subheadings.

return to TOP MENU

Latine experience / studies / discovering music

HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Online)
HAPI Online combines current information about Latin America with complete coverage spanning more than 25 years¸ from 1970 to the present. The database contains over 200¸000 citations from 400 humanities and social science journals published worldwide. Most of the journals covered by HAPI are not comprehensively indexed elsewhere¸ although many articles from these journals are selectively included in HLAS.
1970 - present
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Contains records describing books¸ book chapters¸ articles¸ and conference papers published in the field of Latin American studies. Coverage includes relevant books as well as over 800 social science and 550 humanities journals and volumes of conference proceedings. Most records include abstracts with evaluations.
Coverage: 1936 - present
Oxford Bibliographies Online. Latin American Studies
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Latin American Studies. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and are keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies
Independent Voices
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America¸ some dating back to 1985.
Coverage: Full Text; 1985 - present

Latin Orchestral Music
A comprehensive online catalog that contains orchestral music from Latin America and the Caribbean, containing over 9,000 original orchestral works by over 1,600 composers from 24 countries and territories of Latin America and the Caribbean. Created by conductors Miguel Harth-Bedoya and Andrés F. Jaime.
Latin American Orchestral Works in the Edwin A. Fleischer Collection of Orchestral Music
The Edwin A. Fleisher Collection of Orchestral Music is the largest lending library of orchestral performance material in the world. It contains over 22,000 titles and continues to grow into the 21st century. The Collection houses virtually the entire standard repertoire and is internationally known for its many rare and out-of-print works. It is a unique source of 19th- and 20th-century American music.
The catalogue lists names, dates, and nationalities of composers, as well as instrumentation, and titles of complete, incomplete, and uncirculated sets held by the collection. Compiled by Gary Galván, Free Library of Philadelphia.
The Sphinx Catalog of Latin-American Cello Works
The Sphinx Catalog of Latin American Cello Works has been created in order to facilitate the access to information related to the work of Latin American composers centered on the cello. It is the most extensive source of its kind, with more than 2000 entries on the date of its release.
The catalog provides information about works where the cello has a prominent role as a solo instrument, soloist with orchestra, in duo with another instrument or electronic media, or in cello ensembles.
The catalog is based on original doctoral research by Dr German Marcano, prepared at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.
The Sphinx Catalog of Latin-American Viola Works
The Sphinx Catalog of Latin American Viola Works has more than 820 entries, featuring music that prominently features the viola: in solo repertoire, as soloist with orchestra, duo repertoire with another instrument or electronic media, and in viola ensemble. The catalog also offers a vast compilation of chamber music works, in which the presence of the viola is considered relevant and worthy due to the unique qualities of the work’s musical language and the sound of the instrument.
The catalog displays the composers’ name, gender, country of origin, and dates, the works’ title, date of composition, duration, instrumentation, and editions.
online catalogue search: subject = "Latin American"
Discover items in the UC Libraries collection assigned to the subject heading Latin American followed by subheadings.
online catalogue search: subject = "Music -- Latin America"
Discover items in the UC Libraries collection assigned to the subject heading Music -- Latin America and followed by subheadings.
online catalogue search: subject = "Hispanic American"
Discover items in the UC Libraries collection assigned to the subject heading Hispanic American and followed by subheadings.

return to TOP MENU

Gender, LGBTQ+, Women's, Men's, Trans studies

Gender Studies Database
Gender Studies Database¸ produced by NISC¸ combines NISC's popular Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. This database includes more than 696¸750 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to present.
Coverage: 1972 - present
GenderWatch
Full text collection of journals¸ magazines¸ newsletters¸ regional publications¸ books¸ booklets and pamphlets¸ conference proceedings and governmental n-g-o and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues. Contains materials dating back to the 1970's. Incorporated the publication Women "R."
Independent Voices
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

online catalogue search: subject = "gender --"
Discover items in the UC Libraries collection assigned to the subject heading gender, as well as gender followed by another term (e.g. "gender identity").

LGBT Thought and Culture
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books¸ periodicals¸ and archival materials documenting LGBT political¸ social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
LGBTQ+ Source
LGBTQ+ Source (formerly LGBT Life, formerly GLBT Life) is an index to the world's literature regarding gay¸ lesbian¸ bisexual and transgender issues. This database contains indexing and abstracts for more than 120 LGBTQ+-specific core periodicals and over 230 LGBTQ+-specific core books and reference works. The product also contains data mined from over 40 priority periodicals and over 1¸700 select titles¸ as well as full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals¸ magazines and regional newspapers¸ and dozens of full text monographs. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 6¸300 terms.

LGBTQIA Studies: Research and topic suggestions
A guide from to online and print resources on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, questioning, and queer people, gender expression, and sexual identity (from Northeastern University Library)
Scholarships and Resources for LGBTQIA Students
Explore scholarship awards, advocacy groups, and professional networks that are making college more affordable and inclusive for the LGBTQIA+ community. The due dates are out of date, but the scholarship information is still useful and you can link to the website to find current due dates.
online catalogue search: keyword="LGBTQ+"
Discover items in the UC Libraries collection through a keyword search on "LGBTQ+"

Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts (SWA) is an international abstracting service designed to meet the information needs of all those working¸ teaching¸ studying or researching into any of the main areas of women's studies. Each issue of Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts (SWA) gives the reader up-to-date news of developments within this field. All the major international journals and books are scanned and other original sources and cataloguing services regularly searched for appropriate items. Abstracts are prepared by an international team of experts¸ are non-evaluative in form and are accompanied by detailed bibliographical citations. The database comprises abstracts from the journal¸ dating back to 1995. Abstracts are linked¸ where possible¸ to full-text services. Coverage: 1995 - Present
Women's Studies International
Women's Studies International covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Nearly 800 essential sources include: journals¸ newspapers¸ newsletters¸ bulletins¸ books¸ book chapters¸ proceedings¸ reports¸ theses¸ dissertations¸ NGO studies¸ Web sites & Web documents¸ and grey literature. Women's Studies International supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology¸ history¸ political science & economy¸ public policy¸ international relations¸ arts & humanities¸ business and education. Coverage: 1972 - present
Gerritsen Collection
The Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online is an international digital library that spans four centuries and documents the lives and experiences of women in public and private arenas. The database contains 265 periodicals and 4¸471 monographs, published 1543-1945 in fifteen languages. Coverage: 1543-1945. NOTE: This collection moved to the ProQuest platform in June 2022.
Women and Social Movements, International
Women and Social Movements, International is a landmark collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, reports of international women's organizations, and publications and web pages of women's non-governmental organizations, and letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-nineteenth century, this collection lets you see how women's social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center. Coverage:1840-present
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices. With a clear focus on bringing the voices of the colonized to the forefront, this highly-curated archive and database includes documents related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States Empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand and Australia. Coverage 1820 - present.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000, Scholar's Edition
Women and Social Movements in the United States is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. history generally at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 98 document projects and archives with more than 3,850 documents and 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and more than 2,100 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center. Coverage: 1600-2000

Women Working, 1800-1930
An exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. By examining those holdings afresh and querying them in a new and feminist light, the curators of the Women Working collection have aggregated thousands of items that illuminate women's history. The result is a unique digital collection comprising over 650,000 individual pages from more than 3,100 books and trade catalogs, 900 archives and manuscript items, and 1,400 photographs. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented.
Chamber Music America: The Composers Equity Group
A Database of ALAANA,* Women, and Gender Non-Conforming Composers.
* Chamber Music America uses the acronym ALAANA to indicate composers who identify as African/Black, Latinx, Asian/South Asian, Arab/Middle Eastern, and Native American.
online catalogue search: subject = "women music --"
Discover items in the UC Libraries collection assigned to the subject heading women music followed by another term (e.g. "women music critics") and followed by additional letters (e.g. women musicians).
Masculinity and Men's Studies
Masculinity and Men's Studies research takes an interdisciplinary approach to the study of gender, its function in cultures and societies, and its intersections with race and class (Guide from University of Florida Library)
online catalogue search: subject = "masculinity --"
Discover items in the UC Libraries collection assigned to the subject heading masculinity followed by subheadings.
online catalogue search: subject="transgender"
Discover items in the UC Libraries collection assigned to a subject heading beginning with "transgender"

See also American music / studies

return to TOP MENU

Disability experience / studies

Oxford Handbook of Music and Disability Studies
The Oxford handbook of music and disability studies [electronic resource] / edited by Blake Howe, Stephanie Jensen-Moulton, Neil Lerner, and Joseph Straus (New York : Oxford University Press, 2016).
The essays in this volume share a theoretical and methodological connection to Disability Studies, especially its central idea that disability is a social and cultural construction. Disability is shown to be a core feature of the musical identity of music makers (especially composers and performers), something that affects their lives and works and their public reception. Music represents disability in various ways and affirms the notion that disability is a performance, something you do rather than something you are. These essays make the case that disability is not something at the periphery of culture and music, but something central to our art and to our humanity. They also address an important lacuna within a Disability Studies that has mostly overlooked music as a medium through which disability can be constructed.
Broken beauty : musical modernism and the representation of disability
Broken beauty [electronic resource] : musical modernism and the representation of disability / by Joseph N. Straus (New York, NY : Oxford University Press, 2018).
Broken Beauty illustrates how disability is right at the core of musical modernism; it is one of the things that musical modernism is fundamentally about. The most characteristic features of musical modernism-fractured forms, immobilized harmonies, conflicting textural layers, radical simplification of means in some cases, and radical complexity and hermeticism in others-can be understood as musical representations of disability conditions, including deformity/disfigurement, mobility impairment, madness, idiocy, and autism.
online catalogue search: subject = "disability studies"
Discover items in the UC Libraries collection assigned to the subject heading disability studies, and to that heading followed by subheadings.
online catalogue search: subject = "people with disabilities"
Discover items in the UC Libraries collection assigned to the subject heading people with disabilities, and to that heading followed by subheadings (e.g. "people with disabilities and the performing arts").

return to TOP MENU

American history / studies

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection Online
Provides digital access to a highly comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1912. Subject coverage includes: advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more. Produced by a partnership between EBSCO and the American Antiquarian Society (AAS)
Series 1 (1691-1820) -- Series 2 (1821-1837) -- Series 3 (1838-1852) -- Series 4 -- (1853-1865) -- Series 5 (1866-1877)
Early American Imprints¸ Series I. Evans (1639-1800)
Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans. The definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th- century America¸ from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs¸ diplomacy¸ literature¸ music¸ religion¸ the Revolutionary War¸ temperance¸ witchcraft¸ and just about any other topic imaginable. Upon completion¸ Evans Digital will consist of more than 36¸000 works and 2¸400¸000 images.
Coverage - 1639 - 1800
Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement From the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), 1652-1800
The definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th- century America¸ from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs¸ diplomacy¸ literature¸ music¸ religion¸ the Revolutionary War¸ temperance¸ witchcraft¸ and just about any other topic imaginable. Upon completion¸ Evans Digital will consist of more than 36¸000 works and 2¸400¸000 images.
Coverage: 1639–1800. Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia (LCP), 1670-1800
The definitive resource for researching every aspect of 17th- and 18th- century America—has been dramatically expanded. From the acclaimed holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia comes a broad range of recently uncovered books, pamphlets and broadsides, most of which were not included in either Charles Evans’ monumental work or Roger Bristol’s supplement. Printed during a 130-year period spanning the colonial era and the formation of the new nation, these nearly 1,100 rare and unique items represent a remarkable enrichment of the Readex digital edition of Early American Imprints. Also see - America's Historical Imprints: Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
Pennsylvania Gazette¸ 1728-1800
Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through 1800¸ The Pennsylvania Gazette is considered The New York Times of the 18th century. It provides the reader with a first hand view of colonial America¸ the American Revolution and the New Republic¸ and offers important social¸ political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods. Thousands of articles¸ editorials¸ letters¸ news items and advertisements cover the Western Hemisphere¸ from the Canadian Maritime Provinces¸ through the West Indies and North and South America¸ giving a detailed glimpse of issues and lifestyles of the times. Also included is the full-text of such important writings such as: the Declaration of Independence¸ the Constitution¸ Letters from a Farmer¸ Thomas Payne`s Common Sense¸ The Federalist Papers¸ etc. Coverage: 1728-1800
American Periodicals Series Online 1740-1900
APS ONLINE 1740-1900 spans over 1¸500 titles and 7 million pages of content beginning with the first magazines published in America. Limited coverage extends to the near mid-20th century (1943) for articles in some periodical titles that began publishing in 1900. See the database description â€œAbout this Collectionâ€ on the opening page of the database for details concerning dates of coverage.
Coverage: 1740 - 1943
Early American Imprints¸ Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books¸ pamphlets¸ and broadsides published in America from 1801 through 1819. Contains many state papers and government materials¸ including published reports; presidential letters and messages; and congressional¸ state and territorial resolutions. Based on the American Bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker¸ which is now supplemented by thousands of new items. Allows browsing by genre¸ subject¸ author¸ printing history¸ place of publication¸ and language. Allows searching in citation text¸ title¸ subject¸ genre¸ author¸ place of publication¸ publisher¸ and document number. Cross-searchable with other Archive of Americana collections
Coverage: 1801-1819
Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals
Indexes 42 art journals published in the U.S. during the 19th century¸ (1840-1907) providing nearly complete coverage of journals from this period. The index describes the entire journal contents: articles¸ art notes¸ illustrations¸ stories¸ poems¸ and advertisements; and offers information on popular culture and industry¸ artists and illustrators¸ painting¸ sculpture¸ drawing¸ photography¸ architecture and design¸ exhibitions and sales¸ decorations¸ and collecting. The file includes 27¸000 records.
Coverage: 1840 - 1907
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Chronicling America (ISSN 2475-2703) allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. It is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC). NDNP is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of US newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.
Coverage: 1880-1922
Making of America (University of Michigan)
Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education¸ psychology¸ American history¸ sociology¸ religion¸ and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8¸500 books and 50¸000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
America: History and Life (EBSCO )
America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2¸000 journals published worldwide in history¸ related humanities¸ and the social sciences. Coverage also includes citations to book reviews from approximately 140 major journals of American history and culture¸ and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.
Coverage: 1964 - present
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
The stated aim of the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) is to bring together the riches of America's libraries¸ archives¸ and museums¸ and make them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression¸ from the written word¸ to works of art and culture¸ to records of America's heritage¸ to the efforts and data of science. The DPLA aims to make the realm of openly available materials more easily discovered and more widely used. This resource offers a single point of access to millions of items including photographs¸ manuscripts¸ books¸ sounds¸ moving images¸ and more from libraries¸ archives¸ and museums around the United States. Users can browse and search the DPLA's collections by timeline¸ map¸ format¸ and topic. Users can also save items to customized lists and share their lists with others
ATLA Religion Database
(Formerly Religion Index) ATLA Religion Database¸ produced by the America Theological Society¸ is a comprehensive reference database designed to support religious and theological scholarship. It contains more than one million citations from 1¸400+ international journal titles and 14¸000 multi-author works and book reviews related to religious studies.
Coverage: 1949 - present
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America
Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
Musical America online
A weekly newspaper covering drama¸ music and the arts¸ Musical America today (Musical America International Directory of the Performing Arts and www.musicalamerica.com) is the meeting place for the entire performing arts industry.

return to TOP MENU

Non-American literature / history

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO )
Historical Abstracts is a reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada¸ which are covered in America: History and Life). Over 2¸000 journals published throughout the world are covered in the database. In addition to including the key historical journals from virtually every major country and journals of regional history¸ Historical Abstracts includes a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history. Historical Abstracts also cites new books reviewed in key English-language history and review journals. Dissertation citations relevant to the serial's subject scope are derived from Dissertation Abstracts International.
Coverage: 1955 - present
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
The Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides access to the digital images of every page of 150¸000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 33 million pages¸ the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in fields of history¸ literature¸ religion¸ law¸ fine arts¸ and sermons to advertisements-and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors¸ all providing a diverse collection of material for the researcher of the eighteenth century. Included are works from women writers of the eighteenth century; collections on the French Revolution; and numerous editions of the works of Shakespeare. Multiple editions of each individual work are offered to enable scholars to make textual comparisons of the works. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
Eighteenth Century Fiction
Full text of 96 works of prose fiction written in the British Isles.
Coverage: Full Text; 1700 - 1780
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Nineteenth Century Collections Online focuses on primary source collections of the nineteenth century. The database includes monographs¸ newspapers¸ pamphlets¸ manuscripts¸ photographs¸ ephemera¸ maps¸ statistics¸ etc., and unites them in one central¸ cross-searchable interface that offers annotation and tagging tools. The eight parts include:
1) Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange¸
2) British Politics and Society¸
3) British Theatre¸ Music and Literature: High and Popular Culture¸
4) European Literature¸ 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection¸
5) Europe and Africa: Commerce¸ Christianity¸ Civilization¸ and Conquest¸
6) Photography: The World Through the Lens¸
7) Science¸ Technology and Medicine¸ 1780-1925¸ and
8) Women: Transnational Networks.
First World War Portal
The First World War portal presents rich and varied primary source documents, featured in three self-contained modules: 1) Personal Experiences¸ 2) Propaganda and Recruitment¸ and 3) Visual Perspectives and Narratives. The wealth of original documents include: personal narratives¸ diaries¸ newspapers¸ posters¸ postcards¸ photographs¸ printed books¸ military and government files¸ ephemera¸ official and personal photographs¸ manuscripts¸ rare printed material¸ artwork¸ objects and film. This material is complemented by a range of contextual features, including interactive maps, a chronology, and fascinating visual images in bespoke galleries. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.

return to TOP MENU

Digital humanities

Useful DH Projects & Resources

Blue Mountain Project (Princeton)
Drawing on Princeton University's exceptional collections and curatorial and academic expertise¸ the Blue Mountain Project is a digital thematic research collection of art¸ music and literary periodicals of the European avant-garde published 1848-1923. The project is unique in its goal of collecting full runs of rare journals of international provenance and multilingual scope¸ of experimental content and complex layout¸ and to organize them with high-level descriptive and technical precision.

The Roaring 'Twenties: an interactive exploration of the historical soundscape of New York City
The Roaring 'Twenties extends Emily Thompson's groundbreaking 2002 book, The Soundscape of Modernity: Architectural Acoustics and the Culture of Listening in America, 1900-1933, into new sensory registers and toward new audiences. The project richly draws from the Municipal Archives of the City of New York, cataloging over 600 unique complaints about noise around 1930 and reproducing over 350 archival pages. It also includes 54 excerpts of Fox Movietone newsreels -- early sound experiments that captured and remediated the sounds of New York City -- as well as hundreds of photographs and print materials. The data is mined through human filtering and detailed close readings. Presented here through a stylized multimedia interface, the site invites users to linger with the artifacts and to listen and read with care.
Global Performing Arts Database (GloPAD)
Database of records that include authoritative, detailed, multilingual descriptions of digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects related to the performing arts around the world, plus information about related pieces, productions, performers, and creators. Approximately 4,500 objects are currently available. GloPAD is a collaborative venture, and its development is based at Cornell University.
Vectors: online multimodal journal
Vectors launched in 2005 as a journal devoted to multimodal research, often featuring projects produced collaboratively through a fellowship model. Although that model is now outgrown, Vectors continues to offer a platform for experimenting with the forms and potentials of online scholarship. Vectors continues its role of pushing the boundaries of research in the arts, humanities and social sciences. As always, our goal is to showcase work that is not easily contained by the conventions - often still limited to portable documents and embedded video files - of contemporary electronic publication.
Open Thresholds: a digital zine
Thresholds is a digital zine. We custom-design each issue, generating provocative collisions of art and ideas. The result is creative / critical digital digital handiwork, a hand-stitched sampler of texts and ideas.
Freedom’s Ring: King’s “I Have a Dream” Speech
Freedom’s Ring is Martin Luther King, Jr.’s “I Have a Dream” speech, animated. Here you can compare the written and spoken speech, explore multimedia images, listen to movement activists, and uncover historical context.
SNCC Digital Gateway
In 2013, the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC—pronounced “Snick”) Legacy Project and Duke University formed a partnership to chronicle the historic struggles for voting rights and to develop ongoing programs that contribute to a more civil and inclusive democracy in the 21st century. This documentary website tells the story of how young activists in SNCC united with local people in the Deep South to build a grassroots movement for change that empowered the Black community and transformed the nation. The SNCC Digital Gateway portrays how SNCC worked to take control of their political and economic lives.
sx archipelagos: a Small Axe platform for digital practice
sx archipelagos is a born-digital articulation of the Small Axe Project. It is a peer-reviewed publication platform devoted to creative exploration, debate, and critical thinking about and through digital practices in contemporary scholarly and artistic work in and on the Caribbean. Given the wide implications of the “digital turn” for our very conceptions of knowledge, our mission is to discern the ways in which the digital may enhance and transform our comprehension of the regional and diasporic Caribbean. sx archipelagos responds to this challenge with three distinct dimensions of critical production: scholarly essays; digital scholarship projects; and digital project reviews.

Visual arts studies

Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online is an authoritative¸ inclusive¸ and easily searchable online art resource. Through a single gateway users can access-and simultaneously cross-search-an expanding range of Oxford's art reference works: Grove Art Online¸ the Benezit Dictionary of Artists¸ the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics¸ The Oxford Companion to Western Art¸ and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms¸ as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
Art Full Text
Art Full Text is a comprehensive database for art information. It features full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals (dating back to 1995) and high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals (dating back to 1984)¸ including 280 peer-reviewed journals. It also indexes and abstracts over 13¸000 art dissertations. The database covers fine¸ decorative, and commercial art¸ folk art¸ photography¸ film¸ and architecture. Indexing of almost 200¸000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements¸ including works by emerging artists. Also included is a database-specific thesaurus.
Coverage: 1984 – present.
Art Index Retrospective¸ 1929-1984 (Art Retrospective)
Art Index Retrospective¸ 1929 -1984¸ provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine¸ decorative¸ and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications¸ many of which are peer-reviewed¸ and citations of over 25¸000 book reviews.
Coverage: 1929-1984
Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals
Indexes 42 art journals published in the U.S. during the 19th century¸ (1840-1907) providing nearly complete coverage of journals from this period. The index describes the entire journal contents: articles¸ art notes¸ illustrations¸ stories¸ poems¸ and advertisements; and offers information on popular culture and industry¸ artists and illustrators¸ painting¸ sculpture¸ drawing¸ photography¸ architecture and design¸ exhibitions and sales¸ decorations¸ and collecting. The file includes 27¸000 records.
Coverage: 1840 - 1907
Art and Architecture from the University of Cincinnati
Includes works by Eisenman¸ Fellheimer & Wagner¸ Latrobe¸ Elizabeth Nourse¸ and Frank Lloyd Wright
Art as Image: Prints and Promotion in Cincinnati¸ Ohio
Art as Image: Prints and Promotion in Cincinnati¸ Ohio is both a print monograph and a web site published by Ohio University Press in association with the University of Cincinnati Digital Press. The monograph (ISBN: 082141335X) can be ordered online from Amazon.com or Ohio University Press. Cincinnati was a major printing and publishing center from the earliest days of the Old Northwest Territory. The spectacular technological and artistic developments in the 19th-century printing trade nationally were reflected in the Cincinnati printmakers' achievements. Highlights of Cincinnati prints¸ printing¸ and graphic design are the focus of the monograph and web site.
University of Cincinnati Art Collection
The University of Cincinnati Art Collection, with over 4200 works, reflects the diverse origins and affiliations which have shaped the University over the years. Providing a unique viewpoint into the development of the visual arts in Cincinnati, the nation and the world, the collection serves as a timeline demonstrating innovation, experimentation, and change. The collection is international in scope and encompasses works from the United States, Europe, Asia, South America and more. The collection represents some of these cultures in significant depth. -- About (4-8-2021)

return to TOP MENU

Media studies (film, TV, radio, social media, etc.)

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is a comprehensive bibliographic and full text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory¸ preservation & restoration¸ writing¸ production¸ cinematography¸ technical aspects¸ and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 270 publications (and selected coverage of more than 300)¸ as well as full text for more than 70 journals and nearly 50 books
Films on Demand - Streaming Videos
Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows viewing of streaming videos from Films Media Group.

Kanopy@UC
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides 12 million students and faculty with access to more than 26,000 films each year. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. This guide explains how to request access to a Kanopy film at UC.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press¸ as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles¸ topic overviews¸ statistics¸ primary documents¸ links to web sites¸ and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Performance resources

Composed: Overcoming Performance Anxiety
Composed is a ground breaking film helping to change the way we talk about the performance anxiety. This essential resource for musicians, artists, and anyone training for the stage shows that those suffering stage fright are not alone. Even the pro’s get nervous, and there are answers out there for anyone willing to watch.

return to TOP MENU