The chief index to all aspects of classical studies, including language, literature, history, art, archaeology, law, science, philosophy. Covers all of the regions of the Roman Empire. Indexes monographs, journal articles, Festschriften, conference proceedings, published doctoral theses, book reviews.
The chief index to all aspects of classical studies, including language, literature, history, epigraphy, art, archaeology, law, science, philosophy. Covers all of the regions of the Roman Empire. Indexes monographs, journal articles, Festschriften, conference proceedings, published doctoral theses, book reviews.
Thousands of fully digitized manuscripts now kept at the BML in Florence, with full descriptions, digitized catalogue entries per item, etc. Among these, for instance, is the Laur. 32.9, the most important manuscript for Sophocles, of which the UC Classics Library owns a valuable facsimile, call no. Z115Z .S6A3, which is also available online: http://www.e-rara.ch/bau_1/content/titleinfo/8653825 )
Documents the multilingual diffusion of the Greek literature of antiquity, showing how the concepts of Greek and Roman thinking historically has influenced thinking in a global context, first in a Latin medium, then Syriac and Arabic, as well as German and French, and then to some extent the whole world.
English edition of Der Neue Pauly, an updated and abridged version of the monumental Pauly-Wissowa. It consists of two parts: 1) Antiquity; 2) Classical Tradition. Covers sections on the Near East and Egypt as precursors to Greece and Rome, the influence exerted on the Celts, Germans, and Arabs as well as Byzantine Studies.
The CWKB knowledge base assembles data about Classical works (1,550 authors and 5,200 texts, with variants forms in the main modern languages of Classical studies and common abbreviations). The knowledge base also contains the linking heuristics to the passage level for 6,732 manifestations of Classical works. The full-text services linked to are: the Classical Latin Texts of the Packard Humanities Institute (PHI Latin Texts); the Greek and Roman Texts from the Perseus Digital Library; the Library of Latin Texts - Series A (LLT-A) from Brepols Publishers [licensed]; the Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) [licensed] and the Abridged Online TLG.
The Digital library of late-antique Latin texts – digilibLT – publishes prose texts written in Latin in the late antiquity (from the 2nd to the 7th century AD). The library intends to make available all the works of pagan content.
The Digital Scriptorium is an image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.
Scholarly journal. "An Ancient Greek word for the dawn, Eos symbolizes a new beginning. The image of daybreak captures what we think this initiative can offer, a new way of engaging ancient Greek and Roman cultures, of according Africana receptions of those cultures the respect they deserve, and of building a thriving community to support scholars marginalized for their identities, for their academic interests, or both. We aim to center the work and experiences of Black people in the field of Classics, to shine a light on what has already been accomplished, and to reduce the risks, personal and professional, to those dedicated to this area of study, especially scholars of color."
The New Surveys in the Classics are a series of short books dedicated to key themes and concepts in the classical world. They deal with a wide range of topics, from key figures like Homer and Virgil, to subjects such as Greek tragedy, thought and science, women, slavery, Roman religion, and satire. The Library's online subscription covers C. Steel, Roman Oratory (2006), N.J. Lowe, Comedy (2007), N. Livingstone -- G. Nisbet, Epigram (2008), D. Spencer, Roman Landscape (2009), B.A. Sparkes, Greek Art, 2nd. ed. (2010), R. Rutherford, Homer, 2nd ed. (2011), S. Harrison, Horace (2012), and P. Gainsford, Early Greek hexameter poetry (2013).
The aims of Hyperboreus are to advance the study of classical antiquity in Russia and to encourage international cooperation in this field by publishing original articles and reviews of books in Russian, English, German, French, Italian, and Latin. The editors invite contributions in all areas of classical scholarship (language and literature, history, philosophy and sciences, papyrology, epigraphy, archaeology, arts) based primarily on the interpretation of classical sources.
Different typologies of digitized materials can be found here. The website functions as a ‘hub’ for a variety of ongoing digitization projects promoted by the Italian ‘Direzione Generale Biblioteche e Istituti Culturali del Ministero dei beni e delle attività culturali e del turismo’. Start by checking out the ‘Esplora’ and ’Strumenti’ sections.
Keria (Greek for ‘honeycomb’) was founded by the Slovenian Society for Classical and Humanistic Studies in 1999. As a national journal for all fields of Greek and Latin studies, it is committed to fostering dialogue between scholarship, teaching, and other areas of culture. It is issued twice a year and it welcomes research articles, translations, pedagogical contributions, literary essays, book reviews, and other submissions relevant to the study of classical antiquity and its reception, Latin and Byzantine Middle Ages, Latin humanism, and Modern Greek language and culture.
An international collaboration (U. of Leipzig, Harvard, U. of Virginia, Perseus, etc.) committed to creating an open educational resource featuring a corpus of digital texts, deep-reading tools, and open-source software. This is an exiting project that will not only contain a combined corpus of Greek and Latin ancient literary texts, but also documentary texts in addition to multiple editions of the literary texts and translations in several ancient languages.
Philology is an international peer-reviewed journal devoted to the study of human traditions as they emerge from oral, written, carved, painted, digital, performed, ancient, contemporary texts. The journal aspires to challenge and reformulate the expression of philological studies in the present day. We propose that the contemporary world be understood in its multicultural complexity, and thus that philology be re-founded as a relevant social science. To this end, we encourage constant dialogue with the methodologies of other disciplines, including linguistics, cultural anthropology, archaeology, paleoethnology, genetics and cultural biology. Peter Lang. Ingenta.
This journal offers a space for interdisciplinary and diachronic reflection and debate about mythographical texts in Antiquity, in the Middles Ages, and in the Renaissance. It aims to shed light on the variety of issues and approaches, to explore the complex relationships that these texts had with poetical and exegetical practices at different places and times, and to question the historical validity of the ‘ancient science of myths’ that has never stopped evolving in accordance with the religious, social and ideological mutations of European cultures from Antiquity to the 17th Century.
The Suda is a 10th century Byzantine historical encyclopedia in five volumes, derived from the scholia to critical editions of canonical works and from compilations by earlier authors. As the Oxford Classical Dictionary notes, "in spite of its contradictions and other ineptitudes, [the Suda] is of the highest importance, since it preserves (however imperfectly) much that is ultimately derived from the earliest or best authorities in ancient scholarship, and includes material from many departments of Greek learning and civilization." The Suda has never been translated into English, and that is one goal of this project, but there are many other ways in which an electronic version can offer increased accessibility: the collaborators aim to produce a keyword-searchable database with annotations, bibliography, and links to Perseus, the TLG and other important electronic resources.
The Tesserae project aims to provide a flexible and robust web interface for exploring intertextual parallels. A collaborative project of the University at Buffalo Department of Classics and Department of Linguistics, the Department of Computer Science and Engineering of the University of Notre Dame, and the Département des Sciences de l'Antiquité of the University of Geneva.
These are the same type of school programs as in the UC German dissertation collection. In connection with semester endings, holiday celebrations, and graduation, the principal or one of the teachers would give a lecture, for example, on a topic concerning classical antiquity. They are often well-written and quite interesting; in some cases even significant.
A multidisciplinary collection including more than 20,000 e-books covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Under Humanities, click on the drop down menu to find Classical Studies.