Classical Studies, Sources : Fields of Study

Accession Code: EXV-TROY
Principal Creators: Carl W. Blegen (1886-1971), Marion Rawson (1899-1980), and John L. Caskey (1908-1981)
Title: Troy Excavation Records
Principal Dates: 1931-1968
Principal Language: English
Scope and Content: Carl W. Blegen led the excavation of the site identified as Troy (Hisarlık) from 1932-1938 under the auspices of the University of Cincinnati. The concession was obtained in 1931 by William T. Semple from the Turkish Ministry of Culture. Among the team members was Wilhelm Dörpfeld, who had excavated at the site previously.
Series (and subseries) in the Troy Excavation Records include: Administrative Records and Correspondence (Series I containing permits and permit-related records; correspondence; director’s notebooks and guest notebooks; and excavation accounts), Excavation Records (Series II containing notebooks; finds records; illustrative and photographic records; unpublished reports/records; and other excavation records), Studies and Publications (Series III containing publication plans and assignments; original manuscripts submitted for publication; specialist studies; other records related to studies and publications), Other Records (Series IV), and Artifactual Materials (Series V containing samples).
Access: The collection has been partially processed and is available only per written permission from the Director of Record of the Troy Excavations. Please contact the archivist for further information.
Citation: University of Cincinnati, Archives and Special Collections of the Department of Classics, Troy Excavation Records
Notes (1): For additional information about the Troy excavations, see also Blegen, Carl William under Collections – Personal Papers and Memorabilia. Also see the collection in the University of Cincinnati Archives and Rare Book Library (available here) regarding Carl W. Blegen. Finally, also see the Carl William Blegen Papers in the Archives of the American School of Classical Studies in Athens (available here).
Notes (2): Standards applied in the finding-aid conform to DACS (2013, revised March 2015 and posted here).
Finding-Aid: For the current version of the finding-aid, last edited in September 2017, click here.

Accession Code: EXV-TROYPBA
Principal Creators: C. Brian Rose, Manfred Korfmann (1942-2005), and Getzel Cohen (1942-2015)
Title: Troia Excavation Records
Principal Dates: 1988-2002
Principal Language: English
Scope and Content: C. Brian Rose led the excavations and study of the post-Bronze Age areas at the site identified as Troy (Hisarlık) from 1988-2002 under the auspices of the University of Cincinnati. The excavation was co-directed by Manfred Korfmann from the University of Tübingen.
Series (and subseries) in the Troia Excavation Records include: Administrative Records and Correspondence (Series I containing permits and grants; correspondence; material permission requests; director’s notebooks and guest notebooks; and excavation accounts), Excavation Records (Series II containing notebooks; finds records; illustrative and photographic records; unpublished reports/records; and other excavation records), Studies and Publications (Series III containing publication plans and assignments; original manuscripts submitted for publication; specialist studies; other records related to studies and publications), and Other Records (Series IV).
Access: The collection is unprocessed but is available as is only per written permission from the Director of Record of the Troia Excavations. Please contact the archivist for further information.
Citation: University of Cincinnati, Archives and Special Collections of the Department of Classics, Troia Excavation Records
Notes (1): Standards applied in the finding-aid conform to DACS (2013, revised March 2015 and posted here).
Finding-Aid: A finding-aid for this entry is in preparation.