Classical Studies, Sources : Fields of Study

The Acta Sanctorum Database is an electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels. It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saint's feast day, and runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940. It contains the entire Acta Sanctorum, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indices. Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers, essential references for scholars, are also included.

Roger Pearse's pdf's.

ALIM aims to provide online access to all Latin texts produced in Italy during the Middle Ages.

Medieval Latin poetry (Carmina Burana, Cantabrigiensia, Ripollensia, etc.).

Contents: The De bibliothecis of Justus Lipsius -- Lipsius Proteus : the career of a scholar in an age of strife -- Library historiography before Lipsius -- The De bibliothecis : title, structure, and purpose -- Lipsius and his sources -- Print history of the De bibliothecis -- Editorial principles -- A note on the commentary -- De bibliothecis: Text and translation -- Commentary on the De bibliothecis.

Dialnet.

An interactive map on the history of printing in Europe during the second half of the fifteenth century.

Digitized manuscripts, not downloadable in block, but page by page.

Search the catalog for the incunabula of the Vatican.

Search the catalog (several manuscripts have been digitized, see Digital Vatican Library below).

Illuminated medieval prayer books.

Mondes antiques et médiévaux, Faculté des Lettres, Sorbonne Université.

Census is an interdisciplinary research project centering on the classical tradition. The Census database aims to register antique monuments known in the Renaissance together with the related Renaissance documents in the form of texts and images.

"Clavis clavium is an integrated reference database and collaborative update platform to open up Patristic, Medieval and Byzantine texts." Brepols.

UCLA Library.

The Cult of Saints database investigates the origins and development of the cult of Christian saints. Central to the project is a searchable database, on which all the evidence for the cult of saints will be collected, presented (in its original languages and English translation), and succinctly discussed, whether in Armenian, Coptic, Georgian, Greek, Latin or Syriac. Towards the end of the project this database will be made freely available on line.

Searchable full-text database of commentaries on Dante's Divine Comedy.

Exhibition of medieval manuscript leaves, Ohio State University.

De Gruyter.

The Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations (DAMRC), edited by Michael McCormick, Leland Grigoli, Giovanni Zambotti et al., makes freely available on the internet the best available materials for a GIS approach to mapping and spatial analysis of the Roman and medieval worlds.

Searches the more than 120,000 freely available digital items. Oxford U.

The Digital Scriptorium is an image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.

The Vatican Library's digitized manuscript collections.

The digitized full-text of rare books in the Bibliotheca Hertziana collection.

Includes information from the Greek vitae and martyria of 119 saints of the 8th-10th centuries, accounts of the translations of their relics, and collections of miracles, as well as notices from the Synaxarion of Constantinople (a 10th-century liturgical collection of brief hagiographical notices).

e-Clavis: Christian Apocrypha (ECCA) is a comprehensive bibliography of Christian Apocrypha research assembled and maintained by members of the North American Society for the Study of Christian Apocryphal Literature (NASSCAL). Entries for each text include a detailed description (a summary, the various titles used in scholarship, clavis numbers, and identification of related literature), an inventory of manuscript sources (with online images where available), an extensive bibliography (including online resources), and information about the text’s use in iconography and popular culture.

Some 1,700 medieval and early modern manuscripts kept in Switzerland.

Catalog of Italian imprints from the 16th c.

Archiv fur Diplomatik, v. 55 (2009), pp. 425-44. See also: Handbook of Medieval Studies. Concepts, Methods, Historical Developments and Current Trends in Medieval Studies, t. I.

Lists of digitized rare books in Swiss libraries.

BnF and the British Library.

Catalog of Incunabula. Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin.

Art in the Middle Ages.

Digital manuscripts.

From Late Antiquity to 1600. EuroDocs.

Journal of the International Research Center for Late Antiquity and the Middle Ages.

Princeton University.

The Inscriptiones Christianae Graecae (ICG) consists of a digital collection of early Greek Christian inscriptions from Asia Minor and Greece dating from ca. II–VI CE. Each ICG entry features the original Greek text, a German or English translation, a concise critical apparatus and commentary, images (whenever available), as well as all the relevant information pertaining to dating, ancient and modern provenances, current location, and circumstances of discovery (whenever such information is known).

HathiTrust.

The IMB is the Web version of the semiannual publication of the same title. The discipline areas to which the IMB is relevant include Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, History of Education, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Rhetoric and Communication Studies.

The Italian Women Writers project (IWW), issued by the University of Chicago Library, aims to preserve and provide access to an extensive corpus of literature written by Italian women authors (from the 13th century up to authors born in 1945), including the following types of works: anthologies, articles and essays, autobiographies, biographies, children's literature, devotional works, dialogues, diaries, dramas, epics, hagiographies, histories and chronicles, interviews and conversations, letters, memoirs, novels, operas, poems, reviews, short stories, and travel literature.

Iter is a not-for-profit research project created for the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development of electronic resources.

Centre for Late Antique Religion and Culture at Cardiff University. The scope of the journal is the study of late antique religion and culture from the late Hellenistic Period to the early Middle Ages, also in relation to earlier and later periods, in particular Classical antiquity and the modern world.

Provides a venue for multi-disciplinary coverage of all the methodological, geographical, and chronological facets of Late Antiquity. All of Late Antiquity will be represented -- from the late and post-classical world up to the Carolingian period, and including the late Roman, western European, Byzantine, Sassanid, and Islamic worlds, ca. 250-800 CE.

The text database contains Greek and Latin literary texts. There are also collections and archives databases. Use FileMaker Pro to access.

The Liber Glossarum is a vast encyclopaedic glossary compiled from heterogeneous materials of various kinds (patristic, exegetical, encyclopaedic, scientific, grammatical, lexicographical …) and homogeneous by nature, originating in VIIth century wisigothic Spain. It was widely circulated by the end of the VIIIth century, probably in Charlemagne’s court, and is present in Carolingian libraries such as Corbie, Reichenau, Saint-Riquier, Fleury, Lorsch, Tours and Auxerre among others.

It contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers all the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas. The complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux and Thomas a Kempis can thus be consulted. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions" -- Latin texts with translations into English, French, German, and Italian, chiefly from the following corpora: Corpus Christianorum. Series Latina; Corpus Christianorum. Continuatio Medievalis; Corpus Christianorum ecclesiasticorum Latinorum; Patrologiae cursus completus. Series Latina; Patrologiae Latinae supplementum; Sources chrétiennes; S. Bernardi opera omnia; and: Biblia sacra juxta vulgatam versionem.

Links various sources, including descriptions of the city of Rome, inscriptions associated with monuments and works of art, and images attesting to the appearance of these monuments (either actual or imaginative) and to their transformation through the centuries.

Litterae Caelestes is an international peer-reviewed journal of paleography, codicology, diplomatics, and the history of written records. It includes scholarly articles, brief communications, reviews of articles and books, and reports on work in progress. University of California.

Ohio University.

Manuscripta Mediaevalia gives access to more than 90,000 documents related to manuscripts, mainly from libraries in Germany. Highly comprehensive, with different ways to search and browse.

Medieval Academy of America.

Provides a portal to a database with short, uniform descriptions and photographs of all medieval manuscripts in the Netherlands, about 6000 items in all. MMDC has been set up by the Koninklijke Bibliotheek, the university libraries of Leiden, Amsterdam, Utrecht and Groningen, and the Atheneumbibliotheek Deventer and it is partly financed by the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO). The website also contains information on medieval books in the Netherlands, digital versions of several key out-of-print books about medieval manuscripts and an illustrated overview of medieval script.

From 1983.

Persée.

.pdf files of part of the series.

Mirabile provides access to a number of bibliographic tools for the study of the Middles Ages. This includes the database Mediolatino, which includes an online edition of Medioevo Latino and CALMA (Compendium Auctorum Latinorum Medii Aev), as well as other tools for the study of hagiography and early Romance languages.
Princeton University Library.

Women's religious communities from 400 to 1600 CE.

Searchable index. The goal is to digitize all series and volumes. Bayerische Staatsbibliothek.

The online catalog contains approximately 500,000 records available in the Research Libraries Information Network (RLIN) bibliographic database for archival and manuscript collections in research libraries, museums, state archives, and historical societies in the U.S.

Archives, bibliographies, primary and secondary texts on the Italian Renaissance.

The Online Medieval and Classical Library (OMACL) is a collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization.

Contains Greek material relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439. Includes both the Eastern "Fathers" and those Western Christians who wrote before the Latin takeover of the West in the third century.

Dates of coverage: 200-1216. PL comprises of the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 CE to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. All prefatory material is included as well as the critical apparatus and indexes.

The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included. ProQuest.

Greek manuscript database issued by the ‘Institut de recherche et d’histoire des textes’, a research unit of the French CNRS (‘Centre national de la recherche scientifique’). A handy tool to identify manuscripts that are digitally available.

Cooperation between the Bodleian Libraries and Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana.

Porphyra is the first Italian online magazine focusing exclusively on Byzantium. The supplementary volumes are dedicated to specific topics.

The Prosopographie der mittelbyzantinischen Zeit Online/Prosopography of the Middle Byzantine Period Online (PMBZ Online) is a comprehensive biographical dictionary for the Byzantine Empire in the early Medieval Period (641-1025 AD) documenting more than 21,000 persons. PMBZ Online is based on the print edition of the Prosopographie der mittelbyzantinischen Zeit which appeared in two parts 1998 and 2013. PMBZ Online documents all persons mentioned either by name or anonymously in the relevant Byzantine and non-Byzantine sources, and secondly all persons mentioned in the Byzantine sources both from Western Europe and from the Arabic and Slavonic areas, together with those from the Christian East. The individual articles/lemmata offer the reader a summary of a person's biography (where possible) and state all sources pertaining to this person as well as relevant modern scholarship. The contents of an article/lemma include: name in translation and in Greek, title/occupation, place, period, gender, clergy/laity, life, works, sources, and references.

Digitzied rare books from the collections of Bibliotheca Hertziana in Rome.

Persée.

1948-1966.

Continues Renaissance News.

Edited by the Centre d'Études des Manuscrits (CEM) ASBL (Brussels). Not the most recent issues.

1970-1971.

1954-1974.

CAMENA - Corpus Automatum Multiplex Electorum Neolatinitatis Auctorum.
TERMINI - Vernetzter Wortschatz lateinischer Wissensliteratur der Frühen Neuzeit.

Palgrave Macmillan, 2010.