Skip to main content

Resources for CCM Searches / Research

Welcome to the Albino Gorno Memorial / CCM / Library

CCM Library Reading Room
Blegen Library Building, 6th floor

The Library was named after Dr. Albino Gorno (1859–1944), a professor of piano and Dean of the College of Music of Cincinnati for over 40 years. Since 1949, the Albino Gorno Memorial Library has served the research and instructional needs of students and faculty studying in the various divisions of the College-Conservatory of Music (CCM), including dance, theater, scene design, and e-media, as well as music theater, opera, jazz, and classical music.

collections: The CCM Library collections currently comprise some 43,500 print volumes (books and serials), 80,000 scores, 60,000 sound recordings, 3,000 media materials (videos, DVDs, CD-ROMs), and 6,000 microforms, for a total of nearly 200,000 physical items. In addition to the physical collections, the library provides access to many electronic databases specific to performance arts fields, including major subject-specific dictionaries (e.g. Oxford Music Online), subject-specific databases, streaming audio and video services, e-journals, and e-books.

services: The CCM Library provides reference, course reserves, interlibrary loan, and other circulation services, as well as copying, printing, and scanning facilities.

spaces: Since 2010, the CCM Library has been located in beautiful quarters in the Blegen Library building on the 6th floor.

  • The Reading Room recaptures the grandeur of the original 1930 library with its high ceiling, classical pillar effects, chandeliers, and paneling. The statues on high pedestals are from the Shillito Mansion (no longer extant), former home of the Conservatory of Music. “Music in the Gorno Library” concerts are given in this space, using the 1890 Steinway piano that was a gift to CCM.
  • To the south is the large score room storing the library’s impressive collection of music scores.
  • To the north is the journal room storing the library’s current (unbound) and bound periodical collections held in print.
  • Next door is a media/computer lab with workstations (many with MIDI keyboards), listening stations for playing physical sound recordings, as well as multiple electronic keyboards. The media lab offers copying, printing, and scanning facilities.
  • The spacious entrance atrium offers a single-service point circulation desk, serving patron needs, and features display cases of special collections items.
  • A quiet study area upstairs offers private study carrels for upper-level and graduate students.
  • A group study room near the Reading Room and a seminar room upstairs offer sound and audio-visual technologies for group study, group listening to media materials, and working on group projects.

CCM Library Hours

Fall/Spring Semesters

Summer Semester

Monday–Thursday 8am–10pm

Monday–Thursday 8am–8pm

Friday 8am–5pm

Friday 8am–5pm

Saturday 1pm–5pm

Saturday closed

Sunday 1pm–10pm

Sunday 1pm–5pm

Refer to the CCM Library website for specific hours including closures for holidays and breaks.

Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati