Collection Policies

The Robert A. Deshon and Karl J. Schlachter Library

for Design, Architecture, Art, and Planning (DAAP)

Collection Development Policy


OVERVIEW

On-site, the DAAP Library provides access to nearly 100,000 monographs and bound journals, hundreds of cutting-edge periodicals online an in print, and a growing special collection that comprises important, rare, aged, and hand-crafted books and objects all in support of the 20 undergraduate, graduate, and certificate programs which span a broad range of creative disciplines offered by the College of Design, Architecture, Art, and Planning (DAAP) of the University of Cincinnati. As a part of the UC Library and greater OhioLINK system, the DAAP Library also offers seamless access to thousands of subscription-based databases, e-journals, e-books, and unique digital collections. Specialized research services such as demand driven acquisitions and interlibrary loan, connect our researchers with materials they require from almost anywhere on campus, in Ohio, and around the world.

The library also collects design objects acquired by the DAAP Library selector in consultation with the teaching faculty with design history expertise. This is principally a teaching collection; objects include examples of 20^th century design. The focus of collecting is on iconic objects that provide inspiration whether through the medium, the method, or the materials employed by the designer. There is a focus on collecting objects designed by women designers or other underrepresented minorities. The collection supports the disciplines of industrial design, museum studies, art history, and design history.

COLLECTION HISTORY

An academic library’s collection is closely aligned with the current research and teaching practices of the college it serves, and just as the teaching and research mission of the unit it serves is constantly evolving, so is the library and its collection. For this reason, understanding the history of the unit, and in our case, UC’s College of DAAP, aids in understanding the history, evolution, and current nature of the DAAP Library collection.

The College of Design, Architecture, Art, and Planning’s history is based in the McMicken School of Drawing and Design, which began in 1869 as the first department of what would later be called the University of Cincinnati. In 1887, the McMicken School of Drawing and Design became the Art Academy of Cincinnati and was no longer affiliated with UC.

It wasn’t until 48 years later, in 1925, that UC established the School of Applied Arts at which time; pertinent research materials from the Central and Engineering Library were transferred to this new school to create the first design and art library at UC. In 1958, the library collection moved to its new home on the 8th floor of the Alms Building and became the Design, Architecture, and Art Library (The DAA Library). In 1981, programs in Community Planning and Urban Studies were added to the college and related materials were transferred to the DAA Library from the Central Library. 1982, the College of Design, Architecture, and Art (DAA) added Planning and the college became the College of Design, Architecture, Art, and Planning (College of DAAP) and the library, the DAAP Library. Ten years later, in 1993, the DAAP Library assumed responsibility for the collegeʼs 200,000+-piece slide collection, curator, and staff and renamed the collection the Visual Resource Collection (VRC).

In 1996, the VRC and library physically joined and moved into its current 14,000 square foot location, room 5480 in the Aronoff Center for Design and Art. In 2008, the name of the DAAP Library changed to the Robert A. Deshon and Karl J. Schlachter Library for Design, Architecture, Art, and Planning, due to a generous gift of $1 Million dollars from Mr. Mark and Mrs. Rosemary Schlachter. In 2009, the DAAP Libraryʼs slide collection was moved, then deaccessioned. In 2010, the Visual Resource Center evolved into a lab with computers and scanning equipment. In 2019, the space has evolved yet again into the special collections wing. The former slide library room contains artists’ books, posters, mail art, and other unique and/or rare materials. The VRC room houses the architectural archives and drawings. The focus of the collection is Modernist architecture in the Cincinnati Region. many of Cincinnati’s Mid-century architects were either trained at DAAP or trained DAAP students as co-op students (such as Robert Deshon, Carl Strauss, Ray Roush, Woodie Garber, Rudy Hermes, Carole Hermes, etc.). 20th-century Modernism connects directly to the contemporary designs that students now practice. The collection facilitates students and faculty in finding project buildings for studios, theses, and other class activities.  It assists in teaching and student projects for the interdisciplinary Historic Preservation Certificate program.  

COLLECTION HIGHLIGHTS

DAAP Special Collection

This diverse collection of non-circulating objects and materials consists of items that are rare, fragile, aged, out-of-print, limited editions, finely bound and otherwise difficult to locate and/or purchase. Materials from the collection are available for in-library use; however, special handling may be required. It may be necessary to make an appointment to view materials from this collection.

DAAP Artists' Book Collection

The growing core and focus of this collection is on historically significant experimental book/art objects from avant-garde, modern, and conceptual artists such as Sol LeWitt, Edward Ruscha, Dieter Roth, as well as their predecessors, contemporaries, and beyond. The collection also comprises several hundred hand-crafted books, many of which serve as excellent examples of fine binding and book illustration and reflect the artistic movements of the 1970s and 1980s. Book-making is a major component of the DAAP curriculum and for this reason, the DAAP Library actively engages in acquiring examples of works of book art in order to provide a rounded view of contemporary attitudes towards the book and to inspire students to ʻthink outside the bookʼ. Materials from the collection are available for in-library use.

Unique Digital Collections

A focus on the Greater Cincinnati area in architecture, public art, and design. A large portion of the collection contains photographs taken by individuals associated with the Cincinnati Preservation Association, the Miami Purchase Association, and local artist Alice Weston.

Emile Mâle Collection

This collection consists of over 1000 books from the personal library of noted French art historian, Emile Mâle. The materials in this collection focus on French Gothic Art and Architecture and the influence of Eastern European iconography on it. Most of the publications are written in the French language and reflect Mâle's significant contributions to twentieth century art history.

 

Noel Martin Collection

This collection includes selections from the personal library of honored and renowned local designer, Noel Martin (1922-2009). Broadly speaking, the collection focus is on the various elements of design. Specifically, the collection comprises books and pamphlets on logo design; graphic design; font, typeface, and typography; typesetting, printing, and lithography; and innovative uses of paper. Noel Martin designed a remarkable collection of catalogues, bulletins, invitations, and announcements for the Cincinnati Art Museum, was an instructor at the Art Academy of Cincinnati, and worked as a free-lance designer.

COLLECTING ACROSS THE CURRICULUM

The collecting mission of the DAAP Library closely aligns with the current teaching and research mission of the College of DAAP. Below is a list of each degree and certificate program offered at the college and therefore each subject area in which the DAAP Library actively collects.

ULLMAN SCHOOL OF DESIGN

Bachelor of Science. Programs in Communication Design, Fashion Design, Industrial Design.

Master of Design. The program is a multidisciplinary setting across the Communication Design, Fashion Design, and Industrial Design

SCHOOL OF ARCHITECTURE AND INTERIOR DESIGN

In support of the DAAP School of Architecture and Interior Design curriculum, the DAAP Library primarily collects in the area of Library of Congress Classification subclass NA: Architecture, and secondarily, classes H: Social Sciences and all related subclasses; T: Technology and all related subclasses.

Bachelor of Science Architecture

Bachelor of Science Interior Design

Master of Architecture

Master of Science Architecture (MS Arch)

Certificates:

Historic Preservation, Undergraduate and Graduate

SCHOOL OF ART

In support of the DAAP School of Art curriculum, the DAAP Library primarily collects in the area of Library of Congress Classification class N: Fine Arts and subclasses, T: Technology (General) and T subclasses TR: Photography, TS: Manufactures, and TT: Handicrafts Arts and Crafts. Secondarily, we collect in the subclass BH: Aesthetics.

Bachelor of Fine Art (includes eight studio disciplines: ceramics, drawing, electronic arts, installation art, painting, photography, printmaking, and sculpture) 

Bachelor of Art History

Master of Arts in Art Education

Master of Fine Arts  

Certificates:

Critical Visions

Museum Studies, Undergraduate and Graduate

Game Art

Pre-Art Therapy 

SCHOOL OF PLANNING

In support of the DAAP School of Planning curriculum, the DAAP Library primarily collects in the area of Library of Congress Classification class H: Social Sciences and all subclasses and secondarily J: Political Science and related subclasses as well as subclass RA: Public Aspects of Medicine.  

In support of the Horticulture program, the DAAP Library primarily collects in the area of Library of Congress Classification subclass SB: Plant Culture; and secondarily QK: Botany and JK: Political Institutions and Public Administration (US).

Bachelor of Urban Planning

Bachelor of Science Urban Studies

Master of Arts Community Planning

Master of Landscape Architecture

PhD Regional Development

Certificates:

Historic Preservation, Undergraduate and Graduate

Green Roofs

Horticulture

Public Art and Placemaking

Sustainable Landscape Design

Urban Agriculture

Urban Landscapes

Urban Design, Undergraduate and Graduate

Planning

Cannabis 

OTHER AREAS OF INTEREST

Other collections around the University and city of Cincinnati support the teaching and research mission of the DAAP community. Below is a list of several libraries and collection areas significant to the study of design, architecture, art, and planning.

Archives and Rare Books Library Urban Studies Collection and the History of Design Collection.

Classics Library Ancient and medieval art and architecture.
College of Conservatory Music Library Art administration, sound art, theatre design and production, and costume design.

College of Education Library Art education resources


College of Engineering & Applied Science Library Architectural engineering, construction, codes & standards, and ergonomics.

Geology, Math, & Physics Library GIS materials.

Langsam Library Aesthetics, business, literature & poetry, theatre, and economics.

UC Campus Architectʼs Office UC building floor plans, design, and construction information.

Cincinnati Art Museum Library Collection Founded in 1881, the Mary R. Schiff Library has an extensive collection of over 100,000 items, which covers six thousand years of art and art history. The collection includes books, periodicals, clipping files and online databases. The library has a unique assortment of materials on Cincinnati art and artists, a broad range of auction houses catalogs starting from the 1900s, and an exclusive collection of reference materials. The Cincinnati Art Museum Archives houses records of the Art Museum dating from 1875 to present, and records of the Art Academy of Cincinnati from 1868 to 1998. Cataloged materials may be discovered in the University of Cincinnati Library Catalog.

Lloyd Library Collection The University of Cincinnati Libraries hosts the catalog of the Lloyd Library and Museum. The Lloyd Library provides access to both historic and current books and journals, as well as archival materials, on a wide variety of disciplines of interest to the DAAP community including (but not limited to) natural history, botany, and the visual arts.

GIFT MATERIALS: POLICY & PROCEDURES

Due to space limitations, the DAAP Library is highly selective when considering donations of books and other library materials. If considering a gift, please contact the head librarian. Donated materials become the property of the DAAP Library upon
receipt. The DAAP Library reserves the right to determine retention, location, cataloging treatment, and other considerations related to use, maintenance, or removal.

Appraisals

Donors may be able to claim a tax deduction for gifts of books and other library materials. However, UC Librarians are legally restricted from placing a value on donated materials. Therefore, a donor must make arrangements for appraisals of the gift (for personal and/or income tax purposes) in advance.

Elizabeth Meyer

September 8, 2021 

elizabeth.meyer@uc.edu