COLLEGE OF EDUCATION
Subjects covered : The College of Education offers courses in most of the major areas of education. These are curriculum and instruction, early childhood education, special education, educational administration, teacher education, health education and promotion, athletic training, school psychology, counseling, adult and continuing education, higher education, and educational foundations - the area of education applying social sciences methods to educational processes, especially sociology, psychology, and anthropology; and criminal justice. (See Criminal Justice collection development policy.)
Departments and users served : There are four divisions within the College of Education:
Division Programs Program Sub-Areas Division of Teacher Education Curriculum and Instruction (C & I), Early Childhood Education, Elementary Education, Literacy, Middle Childhood Education, Secondary Education,
Special Education English as a Second Language, Instructional Technology,
Adult and Continuing Education (including Corporate Training and Higher Education)
Behavior Disorders Division of Educational Studies Educational Administration Educational Foundations Interdisciplinary Urban Educational Leadership and Training
Peace Education Division of Human Services Counseling
Health Promotion and Education
School Psychology School Counseling
Community Health, and
Exercise and Fitness
Behavior Disorders Division of Criminal Justice See Criminal Justice Collection development policy Addictions Studies
For additional information see Academic Programs
Users include faculty and students from the preceding divisions plus psychology, communication, communication science and disorders, African American studies, women's studies, art education, music education, romance language students planning to teach at k-12 level, urban planning, nutrition, nursing, medicine, history, and philosophy. Peripheral users include teachers, school administrators, parents, other GCLC institutions, and OhioLINK direct borrowers.
Quantitative information :
Summary Statistics Fall 2000 (Includes Criminal Justice):
Faculty: Total 125 (Full-time: 87, Part-time: 38)
Students: Total 2137 (Undergraduate: 1233, Graduate: 904)
Research Grants: Over $7,000,000 in on-going grants.
Degrees granted :
Division Bachelor's Master's Doctorate Teacher Education B.S. Ed. M.Ed. Ed. D Educational Studies No M.Ed. Ed. D Human Services No M.Ed., M.S. Ed. D & Ph.D Criminal Justice See Criminal Justice Collection Development Policy
Special programs and accreditation requirements :
Special programs : Listed below are the special certificates and programs offered:
Teacher Education: CITE (Cincinnati Initiative for Teacher Education) is a 5 year undergraduate program in which student gets a bachelor's degree from the College of Arts and Sciences and a bachelor's degree in Education and Certificate in Teaching English as a Second Language for those with a bachelor's degree in education. Elementary Incites and Secondary Incites give additional information on the CITE program. Educational Studies: Peace Education Certificate (undergraduate and graduate) and Administrator Development Academy (Summer program leading to principal certification). In addition, there is a distance learning program for Adams County teachers to obtain a master's degree. Human Services: Certificate of Advanced Graduate Studies (Post-master's certification in counseling).
Accreditation and state certification : In addition to the North Central States Association general accreditation of the University, the College of Education is accredited in the following program areas which have a library requirement:
The programs listed below are certified by the State of Ohio approximately every five years:
Early Childhood Education
Research focus, grants, and special funding : Some research interests are: minorities and women in education, urban education, multicultural counseling, conflict resolution, peace education, school violence, drug abuse, ecological counseling, integrating technology into the curriculum, adult literacy and distance education. For additional information on the research focus see Research & Grants, Faculty & Staff, and the Educator, available at "The Educator" link from the College of Education, Criminal Justice & Human Services main page. The College also has a major grant to infuse technology into the curriculum and teaching.
GENERAL DESCRIPTION OF THE COLLECTION :
Location of the collection : The collection is currently located in Langsam with most of the teacher education collection (including but not limited to LB 1025-LB2299) being shelved in 607 Curriculum Resources Center in Blegen.
Other collections supporting program :
Internal : Curriculum Resources Center, psychology, sociology, business (especially management and training), African American studies, women's studies, communication, communication disorders, health sciences, biology, chemistry, mathematics, history, philosophy, art education , music education and government documents.
External : Cincinnati Public Library, Xavier University, Ohio State University, Miami University.
Collection history : The history of the college and funding is important to understanding current and retrospective resources. The College of Education was founded in 1905 with programs in kindergarten, elementary and secondary teacher training along with special programs in art and music education, physical education, and the industrial arts. By the 1950's Teacher's College also offered special education, as well as master's and doctoral programs. In 1959 the School of Household Administration (founded in 1924) merged with the Teacher's College to become the College of Education and Home Economics. The Collection was housed in the Education-Psychology and Reserve Room in 210 of the Old Library.
By 1970 the College was offering programs in school psychology, counselor education, home economics and nutrition, vocational education, and physical education. In 1970/71 the collection was moved from the Education-Psychology Room and integrated into the stacks. In the 1970's the home economics program except for nutrition education was discontinued. Then in the 1980's when the College of Community Services was dismantled, criminal justice and rehabilitation counseling became part of the College of Education with a modest amount of money being added to the College of Education library allocation.
In the 1980's vocational education and physical education certification was eliminated. Vocational education and business education are reflected in purchases of corporate training, adult continuing education, and transition to work materials. Physical education materials are not selected; however health promotion, health education are collected at the graduate level and athletic training is collected to support an undergraduate program. In addition, the library budget for all areas was improved so that for the first time some of the essential journals could be added and more monographs could be bought to support existing needs but retrospective gaps remain. The McPheron formula was also created by a committee of selectors revising how existing money is allocated by factoring in number of students in graduate programs, etc. which increased its library allocation when it was included in allocation computations with a replacement bibliographer being appointed in 1983.
With a concern for educational reform came the Holmes Report (1986) which resulted in the College of Education changing to planning for and starting a 5 year undergraduate program with a student receiving a bachelor's degree from arts and sciences and bachelor's degree in education in 1990. With the concern for educational reform a number of important journals started at a time when journals had to be canceled because of serial budget difficulties and the practice of transferring money from monographs to pick up key titles was no longer permitted. Finally, in 2000/2001 with the cancellation of one very expensive journal, dropping paper copies of reference databases available electronically, and the transfer of money from monographs, over $2,000 of new journals were ordered. Priority was given to titles supporting more than one program, new programs, and to key titles not available electronically. Further serial review will be required to determine titles that can be canceled without hurting existing programs so that a few more new titles and price inflation can be absorbed. Probably more general reader materials should be recommended for purchase from Cohen and the interdisciplinary general funds.
General level of collecting : Collection level in the College are at level 3 (instructional support) and level 4 (research) because of graduate and dissertation requirements. Level 4 is attempted but not always achieved for teacher education, educational foundations, educational administration, school psychology, and counseling. Early childhood and health promotion and education are collected at level 3 to support undergraduate and master's programs.
SPECIFIC ASPECTS OF COLLECTION
Call numbers :
Call Number Subject Program Area BF456.2 Psychology of Reading Literacy BF721-723 Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Educational Foundations, School Psychology, Counseling, Special Education GV481-GV508 Fitness and Exercise Health Promotion and Education H60+ Some Social Studies Teacher Education H851+ Child Care Early Childhood Education HF5548.85+ Corporate Training Adult and Continuing Education HQ76.72-HQ789 Children and Child Development Early Childhood Education
Elementary Education PE1120+ English as a Second Language Teacher Education Q1+ Some Science Education Teacher Education QA1+ Some Mathematics Education Teacher Education RA440's Health Education Health Promotion and Education RC439.5 Rehabilitation of the Mentally Ill Counseling RC506-RC573 Mental Retardation Special Education RC1200 Sports Medicine Health Promotion and Health Education RD792-RD794 Rehabilitation of the Mentally Handicapped Special Education RJ101-RJ507 Child Psychiatry (Including speech and perception disorders) Special Education RM724+ Therapeutic Exercise Athletic Training T58+ Training Aspects of Industrial Management Adult and Continuing Education
Current and retrospective collecting : Collecting is predominantly current with older works being placed in storage to provide some retrospective coverage. Retrospective coverage occurs primarily in filling back files of journals and replacement of older titles still of value for graduate students and faculty.
Time period covered : Emphasis is on the twentieth century with purchases on the history of education, history of higher education, and philosophy of education being bought as use and interest within and outside the college exists, with the availability of money for purchase being a factor.
Level and treatments : Selection includes purchase of material for undergraduates but considerably more purchases are made at the faculty, upper undergraduate, and graduate levels. High school textbooks are not bought although upper level undergraduate and graduate textbooks are purchased on a selective basis. Likewise professional materials are selectively bought. Many texts come as gifts. General reader materials are purchased within the constraints of money and time to identify.
Languages : Almost all titles purchased are in English. Rare exceptions are made for the history and philosophy of education.
Geographical areas : Emphasis is on the United States with some titles being purchased from Great Britain and Commonwealth nations. Selective purchases are made on educational systems of the world with an effort to include third world countries . Such purchases support multicultural education, peace education, international students, and history of education courses.
Special aspects : Most titles purchased are book and journals along with a few proceedings. Occasionally, Ohio and U.S. documents are selected; however, these are usually well covered by the government documents selector. An increasing number of documents are available on the Web. Exceptions to this are the purchase of some UNESCO publications. Society publications like those of the International Reading Association, the National Council for Teachers of Mathematics, the National Middle School Association, and the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development are important to education.
Resource formats : In addition to print, microform formats as represented by ERIC are important, as are the increasing number of electronic and Web resources for full text convenience and databases replacing printed indexes available through OhioLINK. Media formats have only occasionally been purchased by education since Curriculum Resources has previously had funds available from the College of Education to purchase professional education media. Since the College of Education no longer funds these purchases and the Curriculum Resources is finding it increasingly difficult to purchase professional education videos, etc. without neglecting its other materials and the education budget is finding it equally difficult to purchase important journals and electronic resources, both selectors look to Media to purchase an increasing number of media materials. Although pamphlets are rarely bought, those not in ERIC and those of value are occasionally bought and cataloged.
Endowed areas : There are no endowed funds for library purchase for education. Education has sometimes been the recipient of matching grants from the Dean of University Libraries.
Approval plans : Many education purchases are made via the Yankee and Blackwell approval plans and slips..
Firm orders :. Society publications and other titles not received on approval are selected by reviewing publishers' catalogs (paper and online versions) and library reviewing periodicals.
Standing orders : Education has several Jossey Bass standing orders for higher education materials, publications of the International Reading Association, the American Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development, and for the current version (1995-date E* Subscribe) microfiche of ERIC documents, and reference indexes and databases.
Document suppliers : OhioLINK has become increasingly useful as a quick alternative for books not owned at UC. Full text journals are important but more needs to be done to connect to more titles electronically for the area of education.
Special vendors : Education does not usually require special vendors; however, some materials such as society publications are best ordered directly from the publisher.
Unique sources : ERIC documents on microfiche, which provide access to many unpublished materials such as conference proceedings, program evaluations, and society publications and the electronic version-E* Subscribe (1995-date), which includes 10% fewer documents than the microfiche version. In addition, the ETS microfiche collection is useful for the full text of instruments for use in research or dissertations.
L. Emily Grimm
University of Cincinnati Libraries
PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033
Contact Us | Staff Directory