DEPARTMENT OF PSYCHOLOGY
McMicken College of Arts & Sciences
PROGRAM DESCRIPTION
Subjects covered
The Department of Psychology offers 3 undergraduate degrees, a master’s degree in human resources and a Ph. D. degree in both clinical and experimental psychology. However, the psychology curriculum and faculty areas of specialization represent most areas of psychology. The following table identifies the general areas of curriculum and research activity:
|
abnormal psychology adulthood & aging applied psychology behavior clinical psychology cognitive neuropsychology cognitive psychology community research conflict resolution couples & families research developmental psychology diversity ecological psychology diversity & health
|
ethics experimental psychology group psychology health psychology human factors human sexuality interpersonal relations intervention research leadership learning mediation & conflict resolution memory motivation and emotion neuropsychology
|
organizational psychology perception personality physiological psychology program evaluation proposal writing psychobiology psychological assessment psychology of gender psychopathology psychopharmacology psychotherapy psychotropic drugs research methods
|
sensation social development social psychology sport psychology statistical methods substance abuse survey research systems of psychology tests & testing teaching workplace psychology
|
Departments /Users served
The primary users of the psychology collection are undergraduate and graduate students and faculty in the Department of Psychology. However, the psychology collection is heavily drawn upon by students and faculty from the College of Allied Health Services and the College of Education, Criminal Justice & Human Services. Further, many colleges and academic departments offer courses that require use of psychology materials.
Non-primary users also are responsible for a significant number of requests for the purchase of psychology related library materials. These requests are accommodated if the materials requested fall within the scope of the collection policy for this department and if sufficient funding is available.
Degrees offered
BA in Psychology
BS in Psychology
BA in Organizational Leadership
MA in Human Resources
Ph. D. in Clinical Psychology
Ph.D. in Experimental Psychology
Special programs/Accreditation
The Ph.D. in clinical psychology is accredited by the American Psychological Association.
Center for Organizational Leadership
Center for Cognition, Action & Perception
Dept. of Psychtaology Research Labs:
Behavioral Health Research Program
Behavioral Neuroscience Lab
Brain Lab
Children’s Cognitive Research Lab
Complexity Group
Evaluation, Policy and Program Planning
Health and Anxiety Psychopathology Laboratory
Health Resources and Workplace Effectiveness
Laboratory of Behavioral Neuroendocrinology
Center for Organizational Leadership
Partnerships for Intervention and Treatment of Child Health
Perception, Memory and Emotion
Perceptual-Motor Dynamics Laboratory
Resilience & Disparities Lab
Innovations in Community Research and Program Evaluation
Social Identity & Diversity Lab
Stress and Health
Today’s Couples and Families Research Program
Research focus, grants, special funding
The Department of Psychology operates eighteen specialized labs (see above) and a Center for Organizational Leadership and a Center for Cognition, Action & Perception. The Department collaborates with a number of organizations to provide a wide variety of courses and research opportunities for graduate students. Information about these opportunities is available from the Psychology graduate studies page.
GENERAL DESCRIPTION OF COLLECTION
Location of collection
The majority of the psychology collection is housed in Langsam Library. The collection occupies shelving on all three floors. Selected older materials and duplicate copies of monographs are housed in SWORD.
Other collections supporting programs
Internal
Psychology students and faculty frequentsly use the Health Sciences Library collection; To a limited extent they also make use of the Engineering and DAAP collections and the University Libraries' collection in Biology, Computer Science, Education, Industrial Relations (Business), Mathematics and Sociology.
External
Psychology students and faculty also utilize collections represented by the OhioLINK consortium of libraries.
Collection history
The Department of Experimental Psychology and Pedagogy was established in 1901, assisted by an allocation of $600.00 from the University Board of Trustees for the purchase of books. The first masters degree was awarded in 1909 and the first doctorate in 1922. The Department history is sprinkled with prestigious names in the field of psychology.
The psychology collection was housed in the Blegan Library until 1978, when it was moved to Langsam. Since the late 1970s the budget for psychology has been modest, but nearly adequate to support collection building. However, several serials cancellation projects, the result of spiraling inflation in the 1980s and 1990s, seriously eroded the psychology collection. Additions of serial publications during this time frame were isolated and rare. However, recent years have brought the prosperity of OhioLINK and its Electronic Journal Center (EJC). The psychology collection has benefited significantly by the emergence and growth of EJC and by the addition of several other electronic journal service contracts.
General level of collecting
Research level collecting is the goal for the major areas of clinical psychology, health & experimental psychology. Collecting for other areas of study/research in psychology is at the advanced study level.
Specific aspects of collection
Call numbers
Materials collected for Psychology fall generally in the following classifications:
|
Class. Letters |
Area of Relevance |
|
Class. Letters |
Area of Relevance |
|
BF |
Psychology |
|
LB |
Developmental Psychology (child) |
|
RC |
Psychiatry (Psychotherapy) |
|
QA |
Statistical Analysis |
|
HM |
Social Psychology |
|
QL |
Animal Behavior & Psychology |
|
HQ |
Sexual Life |
|
T – TA |
Human Factors |
|
HV |
Substance Abuse |
|
Z |
Relevant Subject Bibliographies |
Current & retrospective collecting
The focus of the collection is predominately on current materials. The notable exception to this general rule is with regard to materials covering the history and systems of psychology. In this area the acquisition of older materials, including microform sets, is entirely appropriate.
Psychology library materials are periodically evaluated to ensure the maintenance of a relevant and viable collection. Dated and unused materials generally are removed to storage. However, classic and seminal works are retained in the Langsam collection, contingent upon the condition of the work.
Time period collected
With very few exceptions, notably the area of history and systems, the collection emphasis is on current materials. Indexing sources also must be current. Out-of-print items are rarely purchased.
Levels & treatments
Collections expenditures are heavily weighted toward research level materials required by graduate students, faculty, and upper level undergraduates. However, since 1998 purchases for the undergraduate population have increased, particularly for specialized texts, readings, and summary treatments of general areas in psychology. Popular psychology materials and paranormal psychology materials are not purchased.
Languages
Nearly all acquisitions are of English language materials. However, translations of significant works in psychology are acquired. Generally, foreign language materials are only considered for purchase if requested by a specific Psychology faculty member or graduate student.
Geographical areas
Content rather than geography determines the acquisition decision. Materials that conform to the psychology collection profile are considered for purchase. Because of the aforementioned language requirement, most materials come from English speaking countries.
Special Aspects
Materials published on narrow aspects of psychology are not purchased unless they directly relate to the psychology curriculum or the research interests of the faculty. Examples of materials on narrow aspects of psychology that would not be purchased are books on the psychology of tennis, jury behavior or psychological assessments of historical figures. Selected materials on narrow aspects may be purchased, however, if requested for research or curriculum support.
Types of resources
Journal literature is the most important resource for psychology research. Graduate students and faculty are heavily dependent upon the journal literature. Undergraduate psychology majors also are expected to use this resource. Faculty and students, particularly undergraduates, also rely heavily upon the book collection for research and curriculum support. Other materials upon which the faculty and graduate students rely include conference proceedings, society publications and testing materials. Graduate students require access to dissertations; these materials are usually available in full text format via ProQuest.
Resource formats
Most psychology materials are in paper, microform or electronic format. A significant percentage of the journal literature is now available in electronic format. Electronic book purchases have increased in recent years, but this collection is not of significant size. Media, particularly video streaming, has become an important part of the psychology collection, particularly for curriculum support. All of the major psychology indexes are now available online.
Endowed areas
The Psychology Department receives no special endowment funds.
Acquisition Processes
Approval plans
Psychology participates in the YBP approval plan. The majority of psychology’s monographs come via the approval plan. The psychology approval profile is available through GOBI.
Firm orders
Some monographs are ordered from the YBP electronic approval notification slips. Additionally, some monographs are ordered outside of the approval plan, particularly society publications.
Standing orders
Standing orders are a significant component of the psychology collection. Most are series that serve to chronicle state of the art research in a wide range of areas in the field psychology.
Document suppliers
The OhioLINK document delivery service provides convenient, patron initiated document delivery for book requests. The venerable ILL service continues to provide document delivery, mostly electronic, for articles, but also for books (those unavailable through OhioLINK) and miscellaneous other materials.
Special vendors
Psychology does not require special vendors outside of those normally used by Acquisitions.
Unique sources
Society publications, particularly proceedings, and tests, published by the Educational Testing Service, constitute unique sources for psychology.
Randall L. Roberts
Bibliographer & Liaison for Psychology
July, 2014
